Tweedsiders triumph in first Schools S3 Cup


KELSO HIGH SCHOOL hockey team ran out winners of the inaugural South Schools S3 Cup played at Earlston High School last week.

Scottish Hockey replaced the national under-16 competition with one which was open only to clubs and decided to run an S3 competition for schools. South Schools therefore opened it up to all the secondaries in the Borders and eight out of nine took part.

Split into two groups, Kelso, Selkirk, Hawick and Earlston high schools were in one pool, with Eyemouth and Peebles high schools, Galashiels Academy and Jedburgh Grammar in the other.

Kelso and Gala both had three wins out of three in the pool stages and so met in the final.

The final started with Kelso pressing strongly, putting the Gala goal under a lot of pressure, but the Academy team responded well and kept the Tweedsiders out with a few long balls of their own testing the Kelso rearguard.

It was following a fast break that Kelso eventually found the space they were looking for and a quick counter attack saw Leona Porteous receive the ball at the half -way line and take it all the way to pass the Gala keeper.

A second goal followed, this time from a penalty corner with Megan Brennan hitting a great shot from the top of the D to make the interval score 2-0.

The second half saw the game continue in much the same way, Gala always looking dangerous on the break, but Kelso’s defence remaining composed and they continued to build up play from the back, resulting in a third goal from Izzy Kyle. Tara Aitchison then found the back of the goal again following some great individual play. Captain Lara Patterson made the final score 5-0 after Aimee Martin slipped a great pass in the circle to give the Gala keeper no chance.

Pictured are the winning Kelso team, back row from left, Rachel Burgher, Jodie Osbourne, Lucy Murray, Aimee Martin, Flo Mace, Leona Porteous, Izzy Kyle, Linsey Young, Jessica Howlett, Harriet Norris. Front, Ginny Green, Megan Brennan, Lara Patterson, Tara Aitchison, Tilda Kerse, Imogen Johnstone-Jones.