Tweedsiders triumph as trophy played at last

editorial image
Share this article

Kelso A 4

Kelso B 1


WITH the weather even cancelling indoor hockey (South Schools Indoor Hockey Tournament) in December, it was a relief to finally get the event played, but even then, with bad weather the night before, Peebles High School were unable to travel.

That left six schools participating with Galashiels Academy and Kelso High School fielding two teams each.

Both sections were dominated by Kelso, their B team winning Section A, defeating Hawick High School 4-1 (Emily Stewart (2), Amber Cuthers and Lucy Ramsay); Jedburgh Grammar School 4-2 (Chloe Purves, Erin, Gina and Lucy Ramsay); Galashiels Academy A 5-1 (Lucy Ramsay).

Kelso’s A team proved too strong for Berwickshire HS and Galashiels Academy B teams in section B winning their games 9-1 (Anna Ramsay (5) Kirsty Hill (2), Chloe Gillard (2)) and 7-0 (Juliet Smith (3), Claire Hill, Kirsty Hill, Chloe Gillard, Anna Ramsay).

In a closely contested semi-final, Kelso B team played Berwickshire with the Tweedsiders always coming from behind with goals from Gina and Lucy Ramsay and Emily Stewart to draw level at 3-3.

With three minutes to go, an inspired reverse stick lift over keeper Megan Murphy’s head by Lucy Ramsay put Kelso into the lead for the first time. Berwickshire fought back and won a penalty corner in the dying seconds of the game and with Siobhan Murray making no mistake the final score was 4-4.

Penalty strokes were then taken and Kelso keeper Tamara Cook made a fine save from the first. This was followed by all three Kelso strikers (Gina and Lucy Ramsay and Emily Stewart) scoring from the spot, ensuring their place in the final.

Kelso A team took on Galashiels Academy A in the other semi and with two goals from penalty corners, a stroke from Anna Ramsay and a goal from Chloe Gillard in open play, Kelso A also made their way through to the final.

Here they faced their toughest match of the day against a very determined B team who kept them at bay for quite some time before Chloe Gillard found the back of the net twice, Kirsty Hill scored from a penalty corner and Juliet Smith also put one away.

The B team battled hard but strong but defensive play from Rachel Stewart, Sarah Dagg, Kirsty Hill and in particular goalkeeper Gillian Forsyth meant it was hard to find the back of the net.

Perseverance paid off, however, when a well put-out penalty corner from Kirsty Veitch to Anna Ramsay, saw her once again put the ball away with an excellent strike to make the final score 4-1.

Kelso A: Kirsty Hill (capt), Anna Ramsay, Juliet Smith, Megan Cuthers, Rachel Stewart, Sarah Dagg, Gillian Forsyth, Chloe Gillard and Claire Hill.

Kelso B: Louise Dodds (capt), Amber Cuthers, Chloe Purves, Erin, Gina and Lucy Ramsay, Kirsty Veitch, Emily Stewart and Tamara Cook.


WINNING the South Schools Tournament qualified Kelso HS for the Scottish Schools Indoor Championships in Perth where they came up against the top schools in Scotland.

In a very tight section of three, the Borders outfit emerged as winners over Strathallan 3-1 (Anna and Gina Ramsay, Kirsty Hill).

In the second game against Mary Erskine School, Kelso very quickly took control to build a 2-0 (Kirsty Hill) lead before losing out in the latter stages to lose the game 3-2.

As Strathallan had beaten Mary Erskine School 3-2, however, Kelso topped the section on goal difference and went through to play Hutchesons’ Grammar, coached by former GB player Rona Simpson, in the semis.

In an extremely tough game, with the teams never more than a goal apart, Gillian Forsyth was in outstanding form in the Kelso goal.

Kirsty Hill was again on target from a penalty corner, Lucy Ramsay from a quickly taken self-pass outside the circle and Anna Ramsay from a break up the right to level the score at 3-3.

But, with less then two minutes to play, Hutchesons’ scored the goal that took them into the final. They then went on to win the tournament, defeating Mary Erskine School 8- 2.

Kelso: Kirsty Hill (Captain), Anna Ramsay, Juliet Smith, Gillian Forsyth, Rachel Stewart, Megan Cuthers, Amber Cuthers, Sarah Dagg, Chloe Gillard, Claire Hill, Gina Ramsay and Lucy Ramsay.