Three in a row for Moodie at Cowdenbeath Racewall

editorial image

GORDON MOODIE made it three formula II Grand National Championship wins in a row when he came out on top in an exciting race at the Cowdenbeath Racewall on Saturday night.

However during the final it was yellow grader Kenny Mitchell who was on fire and he led home Moodie and Chris Burgoyne to pick up his first final win.

Steve Webster won an action packed saloon final fending off a last ditch attempt by Stuart Drobinski to wrest away the win from him only to spin across the line.

Sam Wagner was the only formula II visitor to the Racewall for the championship race with the local driver being Willie Draeger (Moffat).

The grid was formed by the points that the drivers had scored in the Grand Nationals with Moodie on pole and Craig Wallace alongside whilst on row two was Robbie Dawson and Liam Rennie with Draeger starting from row 8. Moodie dominated the race going on to make it three wins in a row leading home Chris Burgoyne and Dawson with Draeger in sixth place. Moodie then won heat two from Burgoyne and Kenny Mitchell with Draeger in ninth place.

Mitchell then led the final from start to finish to chalk up his first final win and he led home Moodie and Burgoyne with Draeger in tenth.

Burgoyne then won the Grand National from Moodie and Wagner but Mitchell wasn’t classified.

Frankie Cunningham (Galashiels) made a welcome visit to the lightning rods and during the opening heat brought his car home in fifth place. However he was in a shunt in heat two and had to retire but was back out for the final where he ended up in second place.

This Saturday night, October 12, the saloon drivers top the bill when they contest their Scottish Championship with Stuart Shevill Jnr determined to make it three wins in a row. However Graeme Shevill, Kyle Irvine, Stuart Drobinski and Stevie Honeyman will give him a stern challenge although a lot will be determined where the drivers are drawn on the grid.

The saloons are joined in the fray by the formula IIs, the hot rods and stock rods. The hot rods are contesting another World Championship qualifying round and along with the stock rods are racing for the Turner trophy. As usual it’s a 6.00pm start.