Team of the Year ‑ Kelso High School Curling Team

Share this article

Kelso High School curling team won the Scottish Schools curling championship at Murrayfield in March this year. The team comprised of Cameron Bryce, skip, Neil Sutherland, Amy Bryce and Callum Potts.

After qualifying through local competitions a total of 24 teams from all over Scotland met for the finals which took place over three days. After five games the Kelso youngsters topped their section, and on the Sunday beat Kinross in the quarter final before defeating a strong Forfar Academy team in the semi-final.

In the final, they met the much fancied Stranraer Academy.

The Kelso squad hit top form and produced an excellent performance at the right time to defeat the opposition 5-1. This is the first time a school from the Scottish Borders has won this competition and is a fantastic achievement against top class opposition.