Speedway: Young guns firing at Shielfield on Saturday

SPEEDWAY fans have an interesting event in prospect on Saturday, with a first-ever visit to Shielfield Park by Dudley Heathens, the leading club in British speedway’s National League.

Berwick Bandits’ boss John Anderson is delighted to be able to be promoting a meeting for younger riders, and will offer a turnstile price of only £8 for adults, with children of 15 and under entering free.

Representing Berwick will be a squad labelled the Northern Raiders, captained by Tweedmouth schoolboy Liam Carr and featuring Australian youngsters Micky Dyer and Max Fricke.

Dyer was a popular Bandit last season, while 17-year-old Fricke is the current Australian U-21 Champion.

The Heathens will be backed by a healthy number of travelling supporters, have the brilliant Adam Roynon leading their side, returning from serious injury but nonetheless justly rated as one of the UK’s brightest prospects. He is joined in their colours by Berwick favourite Paul Starke, who races in Dudley’s colours in the National League when not on call for the Bandits.

Berwick training officer Gary Flint – who will act as team manager for the Northern Raiders – was responsible for setting up the event, and to help balance the books, is offering a special deal of £70 for supporters to sponsor either a rider or a heat.

“If they want to be keen, and sponsor a rider and a heat, we’ll do a special deal on that for only £100,” added Flint.

To sign up as a sponsor – and encourage younger local riders – potential backers should call Gary Flint on 07597-057413.

“We can only put this match on at such a low admission price because of the generosity of our sponsors” admitted John Anderson.

“So we would be grateful to anyone who can help us by getting in touch with Gary Flint.”

“I should also place on record our sincere thanks to Berwick Rangers FC, who are giving us the use of the stadium that night for a peppercorn rent”.

Saturday’s teams will line ups:

Berwick (Northern Raiders): 1, Micky Dyer; 2, Tamas Sike; 3, Paul Cooper; 4, Adam McKinna; 5, Max Fricke; 6, Luke Crang; 7, Liam Carr (captain).

Dudley Heathens: 1, Adam Roynon; 2, Gareth Isherwood (rider-replacement); 3, Paul Starke; 4, Dan Greenwood; 5, Lewis Blackbird (captain); 6, Max Clegg; 7, Nathan Greaves.