Speedway: Tigers on the prowl

Berwick’s speedway Bandits – sponsored by A & J Scott Ltd of Wooperton – will hope to continue the rampant form of their last Shielfield Park Saturday show, racking up a seasons-best 65-28 win over Redcar Bears, but this week’s opposition – the reigning Premier League Champion Glasgow Tigers – must be expected to present a much-sterner test for the border boys.

“Well, we do have our full seven-man squad on parade, and they simply swamped Redcar.” observed Berwick co-promoter Dennis McCleary last night.

“But on Saturday, we’ll be facing a team of Tigers who gave a good display last month – and they have beefed up their squad since then.

“They have Chris Mills in the stripes, and he always gives a good show here – and how about their other snap-up signing?

“Filip Sitera began the season as a Bandit, but had to step down after just one official match.

“At the time, he was very gracious about the situation, and said he would be happy to return to race at Shielfield Park at any time – well, the time is now, and he’s here as a Glasgow Tiger.”

The full-strength Bandits welcome back French favourite David Bellego on Saturday, flushed with his success of qualification to the semi-final stage of the World U-21 Championship.

“There are two semi-finals, early next month,” he reported. “One is in Italy, at a track I like – but the other one will be at Balakovo in south-west Russia, a place I know nothing about. You can guess which half of the draw I’m hoping to be in.”

Jason King, who suffered Grade 1 concussion after crashing out of the big win against Redcar and Czech star Lubos Tomicek, who damaged knee ligaments in the same incident have both declared themselves fit to ride, perhaps glad of the week of inactivity caused by last Saturday’s flooded Berwick circuit.

Team line-ups for Saturday

BERWICK: 1, Ricky Ashworth (England); 2, Lubos Tomicek (Czech Republic); 3, Lee Complin (captain, England); 4, David Bellego (France); 5, Seb Alden (Sweden); 6, Alex Edberg (Sweden); 7, Jason King (England).

GLASGOW: 1, Joe Screen (captain, England); 2, Chris Mills (England); 3, Josh Grajczonek (Australia); 4. Filip Sitera (Czech Republic); 5. James Grieves (Scotland); 6, Jayden O’Malley (Australia); 7. Mason Campton (Australia).