Speedway: Premier League Four Team Championships ‑ The Final

Berwick Bandits 23

Leicester Lions 20

Workington Comets 16

Plymouth Devils 13

BERWICK BANDITS and Plymouth Devils were joined in the Final by the second semi-final winners Workington Comets and second placed Leicester Lions but at the end of second race it was the Northumbrians who led the way with Ashworth holding second in Heat One over former Diamond Rene Bach of Workington whilst Bellego made the perfect gate in Heat Two to win well over the hard pressing Kauko Nieminen of Leicester to give Berwick five points over Plymouth and Leicester’s three with Workington on one.

Captain Complin fell on the first bend of the second lap in Heat Three with his resultant exclusion from the re-run but with Workington’s Richard Lawson taking the win having defended his three points from a swoop from Fisher Berwick retained their lead, not jointly on five with Leicester on ahead of both Plymouth and Workington.

Alden regained the outright lead for Berwick in Heat Four when he performed an amazing move to wrong-foot Magnus Karlsson on lap three to take a well earned win whilst in the fifth race Ashworth continued the good run with a wild and wide blast round the boards to pass the whole field and take another important three points for the Borderers putting them on to 11.

That 11 turned into an impressive 14 with another great win from Alden in Heat Six despite some serious challenging behind from Bach with Leicester Berwick’s closest rivals now on 10 ahead of Workington’s seven and Plymouth’s five.

Complin’s last in Heat Seven tightened it all up again with Barker winning it to put Plymouth on eight, but Karlsson’s second put Leicester within two of Berwick’s total as tensions began to run high.

Lawson made the gate in the eighth but despite a constant challenge from Bellego in second the Berwick man could not take the three points settling for two, but kept Berwick three ahead of the field on 16 with four races left.

Plymouth’s Gathercole made it a from-the-gate win in the ninth, although Jan Graversen almost took his glory with Complin in third with Berwick’s lead now down to two over the Lions but Ashworth got the Bandits’ cheering wildly with a Heat 10 dive under Workington’s Adam Roynon on the opening lap to open up a big lead for three vital points taking their total to 20 with two races to go, four ahead of Leicester.

A superb Heat 11 had Fisher leading but Bach made a brilliant pass the American and Nieminen in one swoop to win but with Bellego at the back the whole National Trophy had gone down to the final race with Berwick still on 20, Leicester 18, Workington 16 and Plymouth 12.

The key players in the last decisive race were Alden for Berwick and Karlsson for Leicester as fever pitch hit the circuit, and to the exultation of the Berwick supporters it was their Swede who blasted away from the tapes to take the win with the Lion in second to seal a very deserved Championship victory for the North East side who last won the even ten long seasons ago.

Ian Rae, Berwick’s team manager was ecstatic in his jubilations saying: “These lads wanted success for our fans especially after two awful league performances and they worked like Trojans to a man to give our club a National trophy to shout long, loud and proud about. Berwick are 2012 Four Team Champions and well deserved too. I’m a very proud man this evening!”

Final Individual riders score chart:

Berwick Bandits: Ricky Ashworth 8, David Bellego 5, Lee Complin 1, Sebastian Alden 9, Alex Edberg (reserve) – did not ride

Leicester Lions: Kauko Nieminen 6, Lasse Bjerre 4, Magnus Karlsson 6, Jari Makinen – did not ride, Jan Graversen (reserve) 4

Workington Comets: Kenny Ingalls 1, Rene Bach 5, Adam Roynon 4, Richard Lawson 6, Kyle Howarth (reserve) 0

Plymouth Devils: Ryan Fisher 3, Todd Kurtz 0, Ben Barker 7, Cory Gathercole 3, James Holder (reserve) 0