Speedway: Kids go free when the Devils drive

Share this article

Berwick Bandits v Plymouth Devils (Premier League)

TO celebrate the hoped-for arrival of summer, Berwick Speedway have invited all accompanied children (under 16) to enter Shielfield Park FREE on Saturday night.

“We pride ourselves on being a family club,” said director John Anderson when announcing the offer earlier in the week. “What better way to get families in than by letting the younger ones in for nothing?”

On track, the local Bandits will still be without Swedish starlet Alex Edberg, but the tall Viking – who suffered a broken collar-bone and shoulder-blade in a horrific crash at Rye House early last month – has been back on board his bike for a practice in his homeland this week, and hopes to be fit in time to take his place in the Berwick team next weekend (at Edinburgh on Friday 13th, and at Shielfield Park against Sheffield the following night).

“In the meantime, we will deploy the rider-replacement regulation to cover his races,” confirmed Anderson. “Three of our riders – David Bellego, Jason King and Lubos Tomicek – can ride in his place during the Saturday-night show.”

Berwick’s Bandits are sponsored by A & J Scott Ltd of Wooperton, and remain unbeaten in all home Premier League and League Cup matches this year, and are “totally committed” to maintaining this 100% record against Plymouth Devils on Saturday.

After a KO Cup KO last week by Ipswich, the Berwick riders and management have declared themselves “absolutely ready, willing and able” to prove last Saturday’s result to be no more than a blip in what is proving to be a successful season of solid home-track scoring.

Plymouth boast the top-scoring rider in the entire Premier League in their line-up, and it will be intriguing to watch 24-year-old Ben Barker -- from Truro in Cornwall -- lock horns with Berwick’s “Big Three” of Sebastian Alden, skipper Lee Complin and Ricky Ashworth.

Saturday’s Line-ups

BERWICK: 1. Ricky Ashworth, 2. Alex Edberg (Rider replacement), 3. Lee Complin (captain), 4. David Bellego, 5. Sebastian Alden, 6. Lubos Tomicek, 7. Jason King.

PLYMOUTH: 1. Ben Barker (captain), 2. Ryan Fisher (Rider replacement), 3. James Holder, 4. Todd Kurtz, 5. Cory Gathercole, 6. To Be Confirmed 7. Robert Ksiezak.