Smith hopes to Nick the Hawick sprint title

Share this article

Scottish amateur internationalist Nick Smith of Shaftsbury AC has been named as back marker for the Hawick Border Games 110m handicap, writes John Slorance.

Smith runs from scratch at the Volunteer Park athletic meeting which takes place on Sunday.

Another quality runner set to appear is New Year Sprint winner Martyn Paterson of Clackmannan. Handicapper Don Campbell has placed him on 5.5m.

Victor of the Hawick sprint a year back, Jedburgh flyer Seb Harrison, defends his title from a handicap of 6.5m.

Other Border runners gunning for sprint glory include: Craig Gillan (TLJT) 7.5m; Darrin Scott (TLJT) 12.5m; Paul Ferguson (TLJT) 8.5m; Colin Bruce (Selkirk) 10m; Allan Smith (Selkirk) 8.5m; Nyle Godsmark (Selkirk) 12m; James Parker (Hawick) 7m; Dylan Ali (Hawick) 10.5m; Douglas Prowse (Hawick) 9.5m; Iskan Barskanmay (Jed AC) 5.5m; Emily Douglas (Jed AC) 20m; Lee Gillie (Kelso) 20m; John Fleming (Kelso) 9m; Peter Denholm (Melrose) 9.5m; Amy Clancy (Peebles) 17m.

Darrell Hastie of Kelso competes from scratch in the 3,200m handicap.

In the two mile, Hastie faces fellow Borderers: Colin Welsh (Kelso) 60m; Chris Black (Kelso) 150m; Michael Crawford (Hawick) 150m; Dean Whiteford (Innerleithen) 180m; Darren Dougal (Leithenburn) 180m; Ryan Milligan (Langholm) 180m; Derek Scott (Hawick) 250m; Stuart Somervail (Jed AC) 275m; Keith Murray (Hawick) 320m; Sarah McCormack (Moorfoot) 440m; Alistair Laurie (Selkirk) 500m, Gary Law (Hawick) 700m.

A full card of senior, junior and youth events completes the Hawick card, which starts at 1pm.