Sevens success for hockey girls

Kelso High School hockey squad continued their run of end-of-season success by bringing the Berwickshire High School Sevens trophy back to the Borders.

The Tweedsiders dominated their group, winning all their games over Hawick, Peebles (runners-up) and Berwickshire, while Section B was won by current holders George Watsons, with Selkirk HS runners-up.

The semi-final between Kelso and old rivals Selkirk was a well-fought tie, but sustained pressure in the circle saw captain Jennie Robson open the scoring for the Tweedsiders from a deflection. Robson added a second after the break, with a well-timed shot from Kirsty Logan taking them through to the final with a 3-0 victory.

The same score was achieved by the city outfit over Peebles in the second semi-final and so a repeat of the last three finals at the BHS 7s came about again.

Kelso started strongly and with some quick passing in front of goal, Logan again found the back of the net. Watsons scored from a penalty corner to make it 1-1. The second half saw sustained pressure from Kelso and a fantastic strike from Robson won it.

Solid defending from Linsey Young and Lucy Murray cut out all further attacks.

Kelso High School squad: Lucy Murray, Linsey Young, Sophie Aitchison, Lara Patterson, Gemma Bootman, Imogen Johnstone Jones, Kirsty Logan, Jennie Robson, Jeanie Robertson and Izzy Kyle.