Saloon World Final heads for Cowdenbeath

editorial image
Share this article

Over the weekend of August 11 & 12 the top saloon drivers in the land will be heading north to the Cowdenbeath Racewall where the World Championship will be decided.

It is 30 years since the first time Cowdenbeath staged the World Final where, that year, Gordon Brown delighted the home fans by winning the title. Since then Bob Jones, Ernie Burgoyne and Harry Burgoyne have become the World Champion on home soil but we have to go back to 1998 to see a Scottish driver’s name on the trophy.

The championship has been staged three times since then at the Racewall without success and the fans are hungry for a home win.

Will it be this year?

Stuart Shevill Jnr starts from pole position and whilst he was second last year he has a lot to do if he is to get the gold roof. Shevill has gone through a lean spell recently but there are signs over the past week that things are beginning to come together. However he will need to be at his best if he is going to win and could have to withstand a lot of pushing and shoving if he is to do so.

Starting alongside is the defending Champion Eddie Darby who is determined that he will become ‘the first driver to win three titles in succession’. Darby has won quite a few titles in Scotland and without a doubt will be the pre-race favourite.

David Aldous and Willie Skoyles Jnr start from row two with Aldous more than familiar with getting a car around the Racewall quickly whilst right behind is Darren Goudy and Shane Brown. Aldous and Brown have both won World titles at the Racewall and know their way around the oval and must present a major threat to the front row pairing.

Gordon Alexander will start from row five which he shares with fellow Scot Aaryn Triggs and they cannot be ruled out whilst from row nine the inform Stevie Honeyman will start.

Honeyman has been the driver to beat there over the past month and given any sort of a break then he will without take it, using the bumper with good effect to improve his lot.

Ian McLaughlin starts from row 11, Ally Strachan from row 12, Stuart Drobinski from row 13 whilst on the back row of the seeded drivers are Barry Russell and Ross Watters. Even with a back row start the title can be won – Darby did it a couple of years ago at Skegness.

There are six places to be filled by International drivers who will either have a heat to decide their grid position or have to run in time trials.

The last six places on the grid are to be filled by drivers who will contest a last chance qualifying race and that heat will be pretty action packed to say the least.

The formula II drivers are also racing on Saturday night with the hot rod drivers contesting one of their World Championship qualifying rounds.

On Sunday afternoon the saloons will be racing for the Gordon Barclay Memorial trophy and they will be joined in the action with the stock and lightning rods.

It is going to be a superb weekend’s racing – one not to be missed and who knows we might be cheering a Scottish World saloon Champion.

The Championship will be sponsored by Barclay Bros Ltd of Methil and by Western Toyota of Newbridge.