Revenge is sweet

Borders Fjordhus 3



BORDERS were out for some revenge in this home tie.

In their away game in the first half of the season the Fjordhus ladies were defeated 3-2 so they were up for this grudge match.

With some regular players missing and some changes in positions, the Borderers started the game well and put on a big press. It was a fairly equal contest between the two sides with some fast end-to-end play.

Karen Cornwall was denied an early chance when they had a break down the right. A through ball from Denise Fairbairn found Cornwall in front of the keeper’s pads, but quick reactions kept the ball clear.

Stewart’s Melville took the lead from a quick free hit when they managed to work the ball around the keeper.

Fjordhus looked the better team and had some great possession in defence. Janet Jack created a lot of the play from defence by distributing the ball down the flanks to Martha Douglas and Heather Hotchkiss.

The visitors went 2-0 up when they were given space to drive into the circle and their centre striker found the back of the net.

Borders composed themselves and fought back by winning a penalty corner. A Siobhan Murphy strike hit the keeper’s pads for a reactive Fairbairn to bring the ladies back into the game.

And they dominated the last five minutes of the first half when some great running up front caused some trouble for the visiting defence. Livewire Laura McLean brought the game back level after a solo run to slot the ball into the goal.

Borders were a lot more switched on during the second half and again it was a fairly equal contest. The game was slightly ruined with some dodgy umpiring decisions and some physical play from the visitors, which saw them go down to 10 players at one point.

With 10 minutes to go, Fairbairn, once again in the thick of the action, played a through ball to Evonne Jack, who slotted the ball between the keeper’s pads to give the Fjordhus team the victory.

Borders Fjordhus: M. Murphy, P. Bell, D. Fairbairn, J. Scott, J. Jack, K. Cornwall, H. Hotchkiss, D. Fairbairn, S. Murphy, L. McLean, E. Jack, C. Crighton.