Primary top ten fight it out

Primary School netball Champions, Denholm.
Primary School netball Champions, Denholm.

TEN primary school netball teams qualified from their area tournaments to compete for the James McLean Trophy last week.

Chirnside, Coldstream, St Peter’s A and B, Newtown, St Boswells, Broughton, Priorsford, Drumlanrig and Denholm all qualified for the finals which produced a fantastic atmosphere and a very positive attitude from all the girls, allowing the games to be played of a high standard.

The teams were split into two pools which gave them four games each. The winners and runners up in each pool played in crossover ties to decide the finalists.

Denholm and Broughton were first to compete with Denholm going through to the final while Priorsford and Drumlanrig battled it out with Drumlanrig dominating their way through.

In the final, after the first half Denholm had edged in front 2-1. Drumlanrig retaliated and brought the game back to 2-2 before Denholm eventually edged in front 3-2 to take the James McLean Trophy. It was a double of trophies for Denholm who also clinched the small schools’ netball title in November.

Event organiser, Karen Cornwall, thanked teachers, coaches, Queens Leisure Centre, umpires and Border Sport and Leisure Trust’s active schools co-ordinators for their hard work in preparing for the tournament.