Peebles Under-15s netball team round off cup double

Peebles Captain Gemma Gass (left)  and vice captain Sarah Hudson (right) with the Borders Under 15s cup.
Peebles Captain Gemma Gass (left) and vice captain Sarah Hudson (right) with the Borders Under 15s cup.

Peebles U-15A41

Berwickshire U-15A23

Another week and another set of finals saw Peebles’ award-winning netball squad in action again last weekend.

With the Under-13 Aitken Turnbull Border League trophy already safely in the hands of their younger clubmates, Peebles Under-15A team were hoping to make it a double by winning the silverware for their age group.

Team Berwickshire, last year’s Plate winners, were looking for revenge for an earlier loss to Peebles by only one goal in the Scottish Schools’ Cup, so a hotly-contested match was always on the cards.

On the day, the Peebles girls were ferocious in their attack, with a clear job to do, and no intention of being diverted from this focus. Concerns during the previous week over an ankle injury sustained by wing attack Simone Bailey and a chest infection in centre Kerri Dow proved unfounded as both players produced solid, fast and intelligent play, timing their passes perfectly into the shooters, Sarah Hudson and Alana Craigmile.

With both shooters on form, goals stacked up with Peebles 22-10 to the good by half-time.

Into the second half and Berwickshire again found it difficult to keep possession against the might of Peebles defenders Shevaun Smith and Gemma Gass, but Romani Lunn, Berwickshire’s wing attack, proved a strong match for Peebles’ Anna Millar.

Claire Gray, Berwickshire’s goal attack, began to find shooting form in the closing stages, helping them to win the final quarter. But it came too late, with Peebles’ earlier run on goals putting the match out of reach for Berwickshire and a deserved and convincing win for Peebles ensuing.

Championship winners: Gemma Gass (capt) (GD), Sarah Hudson (vice-capt) (GA), Alana Craigmile (GS), Simone Bailey (WA), Kerri Dow (C), Anna Miller/Maisie Farer (WD), Shevaun Smith/Alex Pender (GK), Emma Axon, Rowan Espie (subs).