Pace hots up for Gala and Kelso clubs

Share this article


ONCE again Gala CC doubled up, with last week’s events taking the form of 10 and 25-mile time trials.

There were perfect conditions for the shorter distance, with Gary Robson accomplishing his second best time of 21.27 on the course. In-form rider Ian Pearson achieved second place in 23.44, followed by David Johnston in 23.51.

Missing on the evening was Graeme Lawrie as the battle for club position heightens.

Alastair Meikle performed well as he, too, is in good form and club members were delighted to welcome Ray Robson back after his recent illness. His humour has been sorely missed.

Results: 1, G. Robson 21.27; 2, I. Pearson 23.44; 3, D. Johnston 23.51; 4, A. Meikle 23.58; 5, A. Pogson 25.37; 6, B. Lowes 25.41; 7, B. Hamilton 25.54; 8, R. Hope 26.05; 9, B. Watson 28.22.

Midges were to the fore as riders set off on their 25-mile round trip two nights later. Making a great comeback, after his noticeable absence in the previous event, was Lawrie, who took first place in 1.00.56, followed by Ian Pearson in 1.01.16.

On his tail was Simon Mills, who has missed several time trials over the last few weeks, in 1.02.45. David Johnston unfortunately sustained a puncture and toddled over the line in a disappointing 1.12.04.

Results: 1, Graeme Lawrie 1.00.56; 2, Ian Pearson 1.01.16; 3, Simon Mills 1.02.45; 4, Paul McGreal 1.04.16; 5, Bill Hamilton 1.05.29; 6, Bill Lowes 1.07.59; 7, David Johnston 1.12.04; 8, Billy Watson 1.14.03

Visit or contact David Johnston on 01896 753637 for further information on Gala CC events.


ON MONDAY night, Kelso Wheelers held their 20-mile Championship time trial on the St Boswells course.

Fifteen riders took part with seven recording personal bests.

Although there were some quick times, Kenny Darling, the reigning champion, retained his title in 45 minutes and 18 seconds.

Results: 1, K. Darling 45.18; 2, D. Walker 45.42pb; 3, J. Smith 46.53; 4, D. Burgher 47.52; 5, R. Ure 48.50pb; 6, C. Stevenson 48.53pb; 7, F. McColl 51.01pb; 8, R. Connell 52.55; 9, K. Wilson 53.02; 10, J. Gayzcak 54.20pb; 11, G. Easson 54.33; 12, J. Blythe 56.19pb; 13, G. Dalglish 57.30pb; 14, R. Smith 60.51; 15, A. Ker 62.38.

Next week (Monday) sees a 12-mile time trial on the Orange Lane course.

Sign on at Woodside Park no later than 6.30pm.