Over and
out – Gala end season on a high

Winners of the 2014 Borders 20/20 trophy Gala
Winners of the 2014 Borders 20/20 trophy Gala

Gala lifted their second trophy in six days to round off the season in style with a comprehensive eight-wicket win over Kelso in the Border 20/20 Final at Shedden Park.

Duncan Millar won a crucial toss and sent the home side in on a green wicket, offering plenty of assistance for the bowlers.

With pace and bounce, Kris Mein wreaked havoc in the top order, reducing the home side to 6 for four with three quick wickets, backed up with one from opening partner Robbie Pringle.

First, Jason Gibson edged Mein to Stevie Halls at second slip in Mein’s first over before Mein had Mark Henderson caught by David Boland at cover. He then bowled Stevie Patterson in successive deliveries in his second over. When Pringle had Greg Davidson caught by Boland, the Kelso innings was in disarray.

Ben Grindell hung on through this difficult period and proved the rock of the home innings as wickets continued to fall around him, with Neil Crooks dismissing Roberts and Ross Henderson as Kelso struggled to 36 for 6 off 13 overs.

Grindell at last found some good support down the order from Murray Hastie and Neil Dagg, and rode his luck, being put down three times and caught off a no ball. But his unbeaten 44 allowed Kelso to reach 85 for 9 from their 20 overs and keep his team in the game.

For the visitors Mein returned the excellent figures of 3 for 11 from his four over, Neil Crooks took 2 wickets for a miserly 8 runs, Jack Halls two for 13, Robbie Pringle 1 for 13 and Dean Moir 1 for 23, while Robbie Irvine bowled an excellent but luckless four-over spell for 15 runs. In reply, Davie Boland and Stevie Halls started steadily against the experienced Cessford and Gibson, but the introduction of Roberts released the pressure as the pair started to find the gaps in the field with more regularity. Eventually Roberts got his man though as Halls top-edged a sweep and was caught at square leg for 19.

Boland (31) continued in a more expansive style, but was taken in a great catch by Greg Davidson, who held onto a skied drive despite crashing into Cessford as the pair both went for the ball. Neil Crooks joined Duncan Millar with 21 needed from five overs left. The pair took an over to settle before Millar exploded into life, taking two fours off Grindell’s third over to push Gala within seven runs off victory. He then drove Cessford for successive boundaries either side of the wicket to see Gala home with 14 balls to spare.

Gala: D. Boland, D. Millar, N. Crooks, S. Halls, K. Mein, K. Gallagher, K. Paterson, J. Halls, D. Moir, R. Pringle, R. Irvine.

Kelso: M. Henderson, J. Gibson, G. Davidson, S. Patterson, B. Grindell, T. Roberts, R. Henderson, S. Cessford, M. Hastie, N. Dagg, C. Davidson.