Newman and Ball take the throne at TweedLove

King and Queen of the Scottish Enduro Championships Chris Ball and Roslin Newman
King and Queen of the Scottish Enduro Championships Chris Ball and Roslin Newman
Share this article

Sunday afternoon in Peebles saw a new King and Queen of the Hill crowned at the Whyte and Alpine Bikes Scottish Open Enduro event in the Tweed Valley.

After a four-stage race in the forests of Cademuir and Glentress, Roslynn Newman and Chris Ball were crowned as Scottish mountain biking’s new royalty, winning the right to be first to wear the newly-created Scottish Open champions’ jerseys.

More than 500 riders descended on Peebles to ride the TweedLove festival enduro race.

Last year, the titles were won by local legends Gary Forrest and Emma Guy, both of whom were unavailable to race this time round.

However, the Tweed Valley produced new winners for 2014, with locally-based riders winning four of the five male race categories, including Peebles Cycling Club’s Thom Mitchell and local trailbuilder Pete Laing.

The area is now confirmed as the centre of mountain bike riding for Scotland, with an impressive depth of talent across all the age groups.

Ball, who heads the global growth of enduro as managing director of the hugely-successful Enduro World Series, proved he’s not swapped his riding skills for admin duties, with a totally-assured ride against some of the country’s best talent.

TweedLove director Neil Dalgleish said: “It was another great day of mountain bike racing in the valley – the sun came out, and there were some amazing performances.

“It was interesting to see how some of the more experienced riders kept a cool head throughout the stages and laid down a solid, fast ride, helped as wet stages dried out as the day progressed. If starting later was a strategy, it really worked.”

Results – Women 40+: 1, Julie Fewster; 2, Julie Nimmo; 3, Jac Marquis.

Women: 1, Roz Newman; 2, Gill Davies; 3, Nicola Fell.

Juniors: 1, Pete Lloyd; 2, Ruidrhi Forrester; 3, Angus Cunningham.

Masters 30: 1, Chris Ball; 2, Keith Buchan; 3, Chris Buchan.

Male 50+: 1, Pete Laing; 2, Stephen Stanway; 3, Derek Laughland.

Male 40+: 1, Crawford Carrick Anderson; 2, Ian Nimmo; 3, Andrew Mee.

Seniors: 1, Thom Mitchell; 2, Scott Laughland; 3, Eion Elliot.