Murray unmoved from Coldstream hotseat

Share this article

By their usual performance standard, Coldstream CC’s Agrii Border League effort was a shade back last season, on which matter further discussion is unnecessary, writes Alistair Lindsay.

Will Murray moves into his second season as president with Willie Johnson as his deputy, and, no doubt, eventual successor.

Down in the engine room there is no change with Robert Walker being secretary, and Tim Myer retained as treasurer.

In competitions, the Streamers started well by winning the Laidlaw, and were runners-up in the Harry Hogg, Double Rinks, and the Dickinson; in the latter competition both rinks were in the semi-finals, with the chance to make it an all-Coldstream final, but things didn’t work out that way.

The ever-youthful Gillian Smith won both club leagues and amongst other winners were Elspeth Bell, Davie Johnston and Annabel Nevin.

Young curlers Amy and Cameron Bryce, along with Neil Sutherland, enhanced their reputations both at local and national levels throughout the season with some very competent displays of their skill and sportsmanship.

One of the features to look out for next season will be a dazzling new club sweater, and no doubt, matching underwear, for ladies and gents alike.