Mud and guts at Norham

Share this article

NORHAM Running Club hosted the third round of the Borders Cross-country Series last Sunday.

The course has the reputation of being one of toughest on the series and this year proved to be no exception.

The torrential rains of the latter part of last week, plus incessant rain on the day, ensured the now customary levels of mud for the round. The main feature of this year’s race, however, was the record number of nine river crossings.

A well-supported juniors race was won by Lauderdale’s Adam Craig in 11 minutes and 8 seconds. Gala’s Rowan Marr was second in 11.43, closely followed by Moorfoot’s Jacob Adkin (12). First junior female was Morpeth Harrier Allison Brown (13.50), followed by Gala’s Isla King (14). Edinburgh’s Emily Strathdee was third in 14.22.

In the seniors’ event the series has been dominated by a fantastic tussle at the front between Moorfoot’s Michael Reid and Corstorphine’s Keith Hood. This race was no exception, Reid just finishing ahead in 26.11 with Hood close behind in 26.23. Teviotdale’s Colin Welsh was third in 27.02.

Megan Wright, HBT, was first female and an impressive 20th overall in 30.05. Moorfoot’s Scout Adkin was next female in 31.48, followed by Dunbar’s Rhona Anderson in 33.32.

The committee of Norham Running Club would like to thank all members, friends and family who took time to support this race either by setting up the course, marshalling, time-keeping, registration or catering.

The club would also like to thank Bruce Martin for allowing access to Galagate Farm fields.

z Gala Harriers times – Juniors: Rowan Marr (11.43); Fraser Wardhaugh (12.14); Paul Henney (12.23); Nathan Cox (13.21); Andrew Hogg (13.44); Isla King (14); Martha Douglas (14.28); Alex Freer (14.29); Cara Hogg (15.12); Zoe Pflug (15.35); Jo Arres (15.37); Morven Cawthorn (16.06); Marshall Smith (16.09); Mark Purves (17.39).

Seniors: Mark Bryson (28.35); David Moffat (29.05); Paul Daly (30.37); Colin McCall (31.08); Alastair Lawrie (32.24); Ian Maxwell (32.26); Dave Nightingale (32.54); Fiona Dalgleish (34.01); Bob Marshall (34.08); James Purves (37.00) Fiona Shepherd (38.30); Eileen Maxwell (40.27); Matthew Purves (42.32); Dawn Grant (43.09); Shelagh King (46.18).

z Lauderdale Limpers times – Juniors: Adam Craig (11.08); Wiliam Taylor (15.20); Kieron Bryson (16.09); Ciara Donlevy (17.48); Jessica Taylor (17.56).

Seniors: Eb Rooney (31.40); Kirsty Thomson (34.58); Graeme Sutherland (35.07); Tommy Angus (35.56); Shiela MacNab (41.52); Susan Sutherland (42.51).