Kelso Cougars take the honours

editorial image

Twenty-five young hockey players from Kelso took to the road to compete in the Selkirk Mini Hockey annual tournament.

Played on the grass pitches at Selkirk Cricket Club, the tournament involved teams from Kelso and Hawick, as well as the host town, who competed in Under-10 and Under-12 tournaments.

The girls adjusted well to playing on the grass and showed great skill and teamwork during all of their games. Kelso Koalas played five games in the Under-10 section where they won two and lost three games.

The Tweedsiders entered three teams into the Under-12 section, the Kiwis (won two, drew two and lost three games), the Kangaroos (won one, drew two and lost four games) and the Cougars (won four and drew three games) who ran out overall winners.

The shield and medals were presented to Kelso Cougars by Scottish international hockey player, Emily Newlands from Selkirk. Organisers wish to say well done to all the girls who took part and a grateful thanks to all the parents who came along to help with the teams and to support the girls on the day.


Kelso Koalas: Matilda Alpin, Amelie Johnstone-Jones, Sophie McCrae, Emma Stewart, Molly Sutherland and Ashlyn Wemyss.

Kelso Kiwis: Abbie Aitchison, Ellen Burgher, Abby Ford, Molly Howlett, Kira McDonnell and Leanne Oliver

Kelso Kangaroos: Rosie Garwood, Charlotte Horsburgh, Roseanna Prentice, Morven Shanks, Joanna Sutherland, Flora Thomson and Rebecca Wood,