Jed sprinters good to go in Castleholm championship

110 mtrs invitation winner Craig Grieve
110 mtrs invitation winner Craig Grieve

The local athletics scene stages a double-bill attraction this weekend, with Langholm Games on Friday and Oxton Games the following day, writes John Slorance.

One of the main events on the Langholm card is the 90m championship, a non-handicap event, and a trio of Jedburgh sprinters are poised gun for the coveted crown.

They are: Craig Gillan, the recent winner of the Jedburgh Games 110m handicap; Craig Grieve, victor of the St Ronan’s Games 110m championship last weekend, plus the “Flying Turk” Iskan Barskanmay.

Another Border representative in a class field at the Castleholm is Hawick’s Leigh Marshall, while Tom Holligan of Edinburgh is hot favourite, following his convincing win in the 100m championship at Jedburgh Games.

Handicapper Don Campbell has listed Holligan as back marker for the 90m handicap and the strong- running Edinburgh man goes from scratch.

Among the Border runners in the Castleholm track sprint handicap are: Martha Douglas, Jed AC (19m); Mhairi Henderson, TLJT (20.5m); Fraser Neil, Kelso (6.5m); Kerr Gerrard, Selkirk (8m); and Drew Bryson, Hawick (20m).

Bidding to put victory the Muckle Toon’s way in the 1,600m handicap is Langholm’s own Ryan Milligan, who runs from 215m.

In-form Jason McIntosh of Kelso (110m) is liable to show up well in this race, as is Hawick’s Stewart Fraser (100m).

Like the Langholm meeting, Oxton Games also has an exciting look about it.

After having been dead and buried for many years, Oxton Games have been resurrected of late and have been a welcome and popular addition to Border Games calendar.

Among the many events that will take place at Justicehall Haugh are the youths’ 90m handicap A and B races.

Throughout the season, the youths’ sprints have brought about some excellent running as well as great excitement.

Borders youngsters in the A race include Hugh Robinson, TLJT (7.5m); Rowan McKean, Hawick (14m); Connor Gillan, Kelso (9m); Cameron Fisher, Jed AC (14m; and Daisy Peacock, Leithenburn (21.5m).

The six-heat B race includes Kieran Hayes, Jed AC (22m); Carla Latto, Peebles (30m); Jessica Woodhouse, Leithenburn (18m); Cameron Falconer, TLJT (25m); Cian Riddell, Hawick (26.5m); and Archie Fuller, Chirnside (26m).

A full programme of other events completes both the Langholm (1.30pm) and Oxton (12.30pm) cards.