International rugby stars tee up for Bill’s foundation

Mary Glendinning and John Rae who were the winners of the David Marchbank Memorial Trophy at Minto Golf Club
Mary Glendinning and John Rae who were the winners of the David Marchbank Memorial Trophy at Minto Golf Club
Share this article

THE Bill McLaren Foundation is to hold golf days throughout the Borders as part of the ongoing fundraising in memory of the legendary commentator through which cash raised is distributed to worthy causes linked to the charity’s objectives.

Venues have been fixed at Vertish Hill (August 10), Melrose (August 17) and Minto (August 24) when sponsored teams of three will be allocated with an international rugby player if they wish. This format has worked well for the foundation the last couple of years at the Vertish Hill and they are now looking to widen the concept.

John Thorburn, from the foundation, said: “It is a good day with coffee and bacon rolls on arrival and a shotgun start followed by a meal after the golf. The opportunity to mix international rugby players and sponsors works really well and we are looking forward to the forthcoming events.”

Among the international rugby players already confirmed are Keith Robertson, Euan Kennedy, Iain Milne, Tony Stanger, Jim Renwick, Arthur Brown and John Rutherford.

Packages for sponsoring teams are still available at the above venues.

More information available from Brian Renwick at or John Thorburn on 07929 655132 or Derrick Patterson on 07812 152859.


John Scott (Plumbing & Heating) Seniors’ July Stableford: Joint winners, A. R. Gerrard and R.W. Scott 18 points.


Stableford: 1, L. Wilson (12) 39 points; 2, G. Herriot (23) 36 points.

SLGA Medal: 1, S. Paterson (5) 75; 2, L. Wilson (11) 76.

NPFA Shield: 1, D. Tomlinson 86 (20) 66; 2, L. Wilson 81 (11) 70.


Medal/Rosebowl/Millennium 2: 1, P. Leithead 98 (23) 75; 2, S. Cavers 101 (25) 76. Scratch: Lynn Douglas 89.


Gents Tuesday Stableford No8: 1, D. Willison 41 points; 2, R. Pringle 39; 3, P. Brooks 37.

David Marchbanks Memorial Trophy: Gents’ winner, J. Rae; Ladies’ winner, M. Glendinning.

The Gents’ Captain’s Prize day, which was due to take place on Saturday past, had to be cancelled due to the weather conditions, but hopefully it will be re-arranged for next month.


Championship: Club Champion, R. D. Ballantyne, runner-up, I. Clark; B Class winner, C. Niven, runner-up, L. Rutherford; C Class winner, G. Easson, runner-up, M. MacDiarmid; Under-15 winner, R. Legge, runner-up, S. Legge; Under 18s winner, A. Penny; runner-up – C. Burrows; Ladies’ Champion, D. Cassidy, runner-up, A. Rutherford.

Selkirk Golf Club would like to thank sponsors Clockwork Mortgages, N. W. Purves and Son Ltd, Border Safeguard and Ronnie Douglas.


LGU Pendant: 1, S. Barrie 91 (22) 69; 2, S. Keddie 89 (19) 70; 3, J. Oliver 89 (19) 70.

Senior Gents Open: Overall winner, G. Hogg (St Boswells) -4; runner-up, T. Bouglas (Hawick) -3; Scratch: A. McVie (Hawick) +7; Group A winner N. Purves (Selkirk) +1 Bih; runner-up, K. Ovens (St Boswells) +1; Group B winner, A. Fulton (Galashiels) -1 Bih; runner-up B. Thompson (Haddington) -1 bih; Group C winner, D. Brotherston (Kelso) -1 bih; runner-up J. Temple (Torwoodlee)-1 bih.


Summer Competition & Championship Qualifier: Thistle Quaich, V. Scott (Torwoodlee) 77 (9) 68.

Silver Handicap: 1, S. Riddet (Innerleithen) 93 (18) 75 Bih; 2, M. Brydon (Torwoodlee) 87 (12) 75; 3, H. Cuckow (Torwoodlee) 96 (20) 76. Silver Scratch: L. Campbell (Torwoodlee) 76.

Bronze Handicap: 1, L. Paterson (Torwoodlee) 94 (24) 70; 2, C. Mackie, Minto 101 (27) 74; 3, S. Horsburgh (Peebles) 102 (23) 79. Bronze Scratch: J. Pearson 95.

Vintage Salver: F. Kerr (Minto) 101 (20) 81.

Championship Qualifiers: 1, L. Campbell, Torwoodlee (76); 2, V. Scott, Torwoodlee (77); 3, M. Brydon, Torwoodlee (87); 4, L. Moore, Minto (91); 5, V. McKean, Peebles (92); 6, Marny Waddell, Peebles (92); 7, J. Cambridge, Innerleithen (93); 8, Sheila Riddet, Innerleithen (93).