Horsing around at the Woll

A VERY sociable evening was enjoyed by EFRA members and friends at the annual get-together, held at the Woll Golf Club on Friday evening.

It was good to see lots of new faces as well as some ‘weel-kent’ ones.

After an excellent meal, the winter league winners were presented with their awards by club chairman Fiona Busby.

Team training officer Anne Millar then announced Pamela Turnbull as this year’s recipient of the Catriona Arres Memorial Training Grant – awarded annually to a member who has, through training and competition, progressed their horse and themselves.

Delia Job was also presented with the Jean McAulay Memorial Trophy for her achievements on her horse, Player. The winner of the John Payne Memorial Shield for 2012 was Angela Barrowclough with Willow (presented at 2012 AGM).

After the raffle, a fun quiz took place, hosted by club secretary Janet McRitchie.

2012 Winter League winners – Dressage: Preliminary (Class 1), Sarah Thomson (Mickey Bow); Prelim (class 2), Tessa Harrison (Borthwickshiels Floyd); Novice, Alison Buchanan (Come ‘C’); Elementary, Delia Job (Player).

Show Jumping: Nursery (Whitfield Cup), Jane Douglas (Sioux); Novice (Millar Cup), Tessa Harrison (Borthwickshiels Floyd); Intermediate (Club Quaich) Nina Cessford (Cowdenknowes Tikka); Open (Tigger Tray) equal, Nina Cessford (Cowdenknowes Tikka) and Sarah Page (Paper Classic).

Next event on the EFRA Calendar is the Spring Showcross Competition at Haughhead, Ashkirk, on Sunday, March 17. See www.ettrickforest.co.uk for further info and schedule.