Harriers start better than Bolt

Share this article

NO USAIN BOLT-LIKE false starts and disqualifications for Gala Harriers – who have been in action throughout the summer and saw successes on the roads of the Borders, in club competition and in Glasgow.

August 28 saw a grand turnout of runners at the Hawick 10km and fun run with 13 Gala seniors and three juniors enjoying good times around the fast flat course with excellent team placings.

Leading the club home, as well as being the first female amongst a field of 58 was Dianne Lauder in a superb 37 minutes and 4 seconds giving her sixth place overall.

Other results: Colin McCall 37.09; Euan Jardine 37.21; Sinclair Hill 37.26; Steve Martin 38.54; Paul Daly 39.01; Dave Moffat 40.42; Martin Clarke 41.08; Billy McCulloch 41.21; Gillian Duncan 43.29; Tommy Knox 45.44; Dawn Grant 48.24; Matthew Purves 49.41.

The fun run attracted 31 young hopefuls and Mark Purves put in a fine effort to place sixth in a gutsy 15.13, followed by Struan Clyne in 18.34, and Greg Forthingame in 18.37.

Last Thursday, at Tweedbank, the annual running of the much-loved Henderson Race took place. A mile on the track was followed by the almost three-mile long riverside route via Gattonside. Conditions were perfect for the 28 runners who started the handicap race.

Rowan Marr posted the fastest time around the track in five minutes dead, with Sinclair Hill and Fraser Wardhaugh tying in 5.12. Kerry Sandilands was the first female home around the four laps in 5.40. The seniors then pulled on their off-road shoes and were brought home in fine style by Mark Bryson, but the overall winner was Graham Manczak, with Derrick Brydon and Rachel Fagan as the runners-up. (Full race results are on the galaharriers.com website).

On an exceptionally hot late summer’s day in Glasgow on Sunday the half marathon and 10km running festival attracted a handful of Harriers, including Colin McCall, who achieved a superb personal best of 1 hour 23 minutes and 47 seconds over the 13.1-mile distance.

Other results: Sinclair Hill 01.24; Matthew Purves 01.55.05. 10km: Anne Purves 1.02.29.