Halls and Pringle lead Gala to League Cup title glory

editorial image

Gala beat St Boswells by 5 wkts


GALA claimed the League Cup –held over from the 2011 season – after defeating St Boswells by five wickets at Meigle Park, writes Ronan Alexander.

Batting first, the visitors lost skipper Steven Broom for eight as Jack Halls held on to a steepler off Scott Paterson.

Paterson was continually beating the bat in a testing opening spell, but Elliot Ruthven and Ally Prabhakar weathered the storm and took the score to 54 before Graeme Ormiston was introduced to the attack and bowled Prabhakar for 29.

Ruthven was starting to control the St Boswells innings, taking advantage of anything loose, but wickets were falling at the other end as Rory Hancock removed Alasdair McIlroy and Rory Elms was caught off the bowling of Neil Crooks.

Robbie Pringle was then introduced into the attack and took the valuable wicket of Ruthven for a skilful 72, skying to Irvine at point.

Pringle then ran through the lower order to pick up four wickets for 14 runs as St Boswells were dismissed in the 40th over for 143.

In reply Stevie Halls and David Boland got the home side off to a great start, despite a fiery opening spell by Elms, as the pair put on 66 in good time before Boland was bowled by Ruthven for 27.

Josh Irvine joined his captain and was looking in fine form as Gala cruised past 100, but the return of Elms saw the Gala youngster back in the pavilion for 28.

Three more wickets fell in quick succession as Duncan Millar, Crooks and Ormiston all edged catches to McIlroy behind the stumps, Prabhakar picking up two wickets.

It was Stevie Halls who took responsibility for seeing Gala past the winning post with a gritty 58 not out as the home side passed the St Boswells total in the 32nd over.

Halls told TheSouthern: “It was a good all-round performance by a young team, which had four players under the age of 20, and that can only be good for the future.

“It’s great to top off the season and have two cups in what has been a frustrating year with the weather.”

St Boswells

S. Broom c J Halls b Paterson 8

E. Ruthven c Irvine b Pringle 72

A. Prabhakar b Ormiston 29

R. Young st Millar b Hancock 0

A. McIlroy c Millar b Hancock 5

R. Elms c Ormiston b Crooks 14

S. Turnbull c S Halls b Pringle 8

J. Broom b Pringle 0

J. Gillan b Pringle 1

G. Deans st Millar b Crooks 0

K. Farnish not out 1

Extras 4

Total for 10 wkts 143


S. Halls not out 58

D. Boland b Ruthven 27

J. Irvine b Elms 28

D. Millar c McIlroy b Young 2

N. Crooks c McIlroy b Prabhakar 2

G. Ormiston c McIlroy b Prabhakar 4

D. Tharanga not out 1

Extras 22

Total for 5 wkts 144