Good times


A WARM, still summer’s evening was welcomed by the nine Gala CC members participating in last week’s 25-mile time trial.

And with many members off on holiday, it was a chance to shine and score much-needed points in the championship. Results: 1, G. Robson 57 minutes 29 seconds; 2, I. Pearson 1.00.12; 3, S. Mills 1.01.16 pb; 4, A. Meikle 1.01.29 pb; 5, S. Lowes 1.03.29; 6, B. Hamilton 1.04.02sec pb; 7, R. Hope 1.05.29 pb; 8, B. Lowes 1.08.55; 9, J. Weston 1.14.18.

Entries are now being taken for the Jimmy Rae Memorial 10-mile Open TT on Wednesday. For further information contact David Johnston on 01896 753637.


On Monday night 17 Kelso Wheelers took part in a 12-mile time trial on the Orange Lane course in perfect conditions, resulting in 13 riders recording personal best times.

Riders who are ever improving week on week include Gordon Dalglish, Dominic Blythe, James Blythe and David Whitecross. Winning on the night and also recording a personal best time in the process was Kenny Darling in 26.33pb.

Other results: 2, Mike Burgher 27.10pb; 3, David Walker 27.20pb; 4, David Burgher 28.19pb; 5, Rob Ure 28.49pb; 6, Colin Stevenson 29.04pb; 7, Simon Gaunt 29.51pb; 8, Donald Richardson 30.03pb; 9, Graham Easson 30.52pb; 10, 30.57; 11, Richard Connell 31.29; 12, Dominic Blythe 32.33pb; 13, Jim Blythe 33.06pb; 14, Gordon Dalglish 34.18pb; 15, Rob Smith 35.31; 16, Andrew Ker 35.34; 17, Dave Whitecross 36.40pb.

Next week sees a 10-mile time trial on the Carham course. Riders are asked to sign in no later than 6.30pm at Woodside Park.