Gala club takes silver at Hawick

Last year, senior women from the Harriers had to travel to Forres to win a bronze medal in the Masters Cross Country Championships.

This year, they only had to go to Hawick and the hopes of repeating their success, if not improving on it, lay with Fiona Dalgleish, Gillian Duncan and Anya Campbell as potential counters, along with six other women whose job it was to keep the opposition further down the finishing order. But they were up against it, with larger city clubs bringing their big guns with them.

However, with astonishingly determined performances by Dalgleish (28.44), Duncan (30.27) and Campbell (30.29) they scooped an amazing silver medal, behind Edinburgh Athletic Club and one point in front of Hunters Bog Trotters. Many congratulations to them on a sensational performance. Behind every silver medal are the other runners from the club whose positions contribute to the final calculations. They were: Fiona Shepherd 31.10; Andrea Pogson 31.23; Anne Weir 32.54; Eileen Maxwell 33.53; Eileen Nicol 36.31 and Shelagh King 40.28.

Another medal came in the same race with the 65-plus men’s race run concurrently, which was won in cracking style by Bob Marshall in 30.23, seeing off his 13 unlucky other rivals and claiming gold.

The senior men’s race was over two longer laps and unlike last year when only one Gala man made it up to Forres, seven Harriers joined the large turnout of 160, coming in a very creditable ninth team position out of 17, just pipping rivals Teviotdale Harriers on their home turf by one point. The Harriers’ challenge was led home by Mark Bryson in 34.52, followed by Sinclair Hill 36.01, Paul Daly 36.59, Rory Campbell 37.35, Chrys Murphy 38.21, Tommy Knox 40.30, and James Purves 42.17.