Final fling for fast track Wheelers

Eighteen riders came to the start line to contest the final Kelso Wheelers Cycling Club time trial of the season over five miles last week.

Battling against a headwind, and at times a crosswind, some excellent times were posted, with more than half the field setting pbs.

Dave Burgher powered to win in a course record time of 10.57, breaking the old record by 58 seconds. Not to be outdone, Oscar Onley set a youths’ course record of 13.01 to complete his quest of holding every distance record on the calendar.

A feature of the campaign this year has been the way other youths’ section members have been edging closer to Oscar’s times – it augurs well for next season.

Times: D. Burgher 10.57 pb & cr; R. Norris 11.15 pb; S. Gaunt 12.04 pb; R. Connell 12.09 pb; R. Coupek 12.22; G. Ford 12.29 pb; C. Stevenson 12.47; G. Easson 13.04; A. Ker 13.34 pb; G. Moore 13.44; S. Onley 14.19; D. Whitecross 14.29; R. Smith 14.39 pb. Youths: O. Onley 13.01 pb and cr; B. Simpson 13.19 pb; D. Easson 14.07pb; H. Graves 15.01; R. Easson 17.33.