Cowdenbeath Racewall

editorial image

The banger drivers may not have thrilled the fans at the Cowdenbeath Racewall on Saturday night but the saloons, formula IIs and ministox drivers certainly made up for their shortcomings.

Charlie Folan again rolled his mini this time after being clipped by another car on the back straight with his car rolling a couple of times. However Euan Millar was in top form and ended up dominating their races.

In the formula IIs there was another good turnout of drivers with Gary Sillifant and Brett Constable the visitors whist Edwin Middleton was having his first run at the Racewall. George MacMillan Jnr started the meeting some 128 points ahead of Chris Burgoyne in the race for the National Points but after a hard shunt MacMillan Jnr ended up out of the meeting during the final.

Stuart Shevill Jnr was back in action after a few months on the sidelines whilst Danny Colliver became the first English driver to win the Turner trophy

There were over 20 formula II drivers at the track including Middleton whilst Adam Blacklock was having a run in the ex-Stevie Forster car. The local drivers were John and Brian Hogg Jnr (Berwick). However Brian ran into trouble and wasn’t classified in any of his races.

John Hogg picked up and eight then a ninth in his heats crashed out at the start to the final before coming home in sixth place in the Grand National.

Danny Colliver, who is leading the race for the saloon National Points was back up as he searches for points whilst the present holder of the title Stuart Shevill Jnr was back in action.

The heats were won by Glen Heeps, Kyle Irvine and Luke Grief with Colliver collecting the Turner trophy from Grief and Shevill Jnr in third.

Anderson then went on to win the Allcomers race were led home Colliver and Irvine to pick up his first win.

Jack McCallum was making his debut in the minis who were racing for the Turner trophy and thee Cowdenbeath Civic Week trophy. In the opening heat Folan rolled his car suspending the race but it was Euan Millar who charged through to win from Steven Burgoyne and Bryan Lindsay. The Turner trophy saw Taylor Borthwick lead at the start but was soon caught and passed by Millar with Lindsay and Burgoyne chasing. Burgoyne forced his way through into second but just could catch Millar with Burgoyne ahead of Lindsay.

The Civic Week trophy was also won by Millar who was ahead of Burgoyne and Lindsay with the trophies presented by members of the Civic week committee.

The Unlimited Scottish banger championship turned out to be a bit of a non event with James Dillon (Mayfield) going on to win from Ryan Scott (Musselburgh) and Ryan Farquhar. However there were only five cars.and the rest of their races were cancelled.

This Saturday the main race of the night is the saloon Scottish Championship with Stuart Shevill Jnr looking to continue his dominance of the championship where he is going for an unprecedented five in a row. However he will have to be at his best if he wants to retain the title with the drivers hoping for a good grid draw as they look to win the title. Backing them up will be the ORC stock rods who are also contesting their Scottish Championship with the new World Champion Michael Bethune hoping to win his first ever Scottish Championship. The BriSCA formula IIs will be racing for their Turner trophy whilst the lightning rods are also racing. As usual it’s a 6.00pm start