Colin warms up for Ironman assault

Colin Stevenson warmed up for his forthcoming assault in the Bolton Ironman by winning the Kelso Wheelers 10-miler in 24 minutes and 14 seconds on the Birgham course last week.

Times: C. Stevenson 24.14; J. Smith 24.16; R. Ure 24.26; D. Richardson 25.16; Richard Connell 25.45; Rene Coupek 25.58 pb; D. Whitecross 29.22; R. Smith 30.21. Youths: O. Onley 28.36, B. Simpson 29.12 pb, D. Easson 33.24, T. Purves 36.59, R Easson 38.04.

League points were also on offer and in Section One Donald Richardson moved into first place on 68 while Jeremy Smith on 56 improved to joint second beside Dave Burgher.

In Section Two, Richard Connell cemented his position as leader on 64 ahead of Colin Stevenson and Gordon Dalglish on 40. Coldstream riders David Whitecross and Rob Smith are battling for Section Three honours, with 78 and 68 points respectively. Six points separate Oscar Onley (72) and Daniel Easson (68) in the youths’ section, with Ben Simpson dropping to third on 56.