City underdogs pull off unexpected win over Selkirk

Share this article

IN WHAT can only be called a shock result, bottom-placed George Heriot’s continued their giant-killing act and inflicted on Selkirk their second defeat of the season in a Lothian Shoulder-to-shoulder League Division One match.

In a very low-scoring encounter Selkirk, the champions for the last three years, never got into gear and went down by six points to what must have been an elated Heriot’s side who shot slightly better than their average. However, it was only their second win and they remain at the foot of the table.

At the top, Balerno & Currie retain the lead, but the Souters are lurking just behind them with one match in hand. It can’t be denied that this unexpected result has opened the league right up.

Top scorer in this match for Heriot’s was Chris Watson with 194 and best for the visitors, in their first match since the end of November, was Ian Burton with 193. Heriot’s took six matchplay points to give their total a good boost.

League table

Shot Won Lost Tied Pts

B & C 6 4 2 0 8

Selkirk 5 3 2 0 6

Pathhead A 4 2 2 0 4

Heriot’s 7 2 5 0 4

In the Scottish Division One Team League, Selkirk recorded their first win of the season with a 388 to 386 against Banff & MacDuff, which lifts them off the foot of the table into a more respectable fourth place.

Top scorer for Selkirk was Bill Vaughan with a 99.

At club level, the Handicap Cup has been won by Robert Murray, with Wattie Bateman a close second, while the qualifiers for the club championship finals are Eric Brown, Bill Vaughan, Darren Brown, Keith Nixon, Ian Burton, Robert Beale, Robert Murray and Wattie Bateman.

Cynthia Plag won both December and January monthly medals, with Andrew Nichol lifting the December Tinline Cup and Keith Nixon winning the January Cup.

In the junior section, Darren Brown won the December monthly medal and Keir Ballantyne was awarded the January medal.

Both December and January MacDougall cups were won by Rory Dempster.

And the Junior Handicap Cup went to Keir Ballantyne, with Rory Dempster taking second place.