City slickers hit by young Braw Lads

Gala beat Edinburgh South by 48 runs


THE Braw Lads, featuring seven teenagers in their side, progressed to the semi-final of the ESCA President’s Trophy with a comfortable victory over Division Two outfit Edinburgh South at Meigle Park.

Batting first, though, it was the old stager Stevie Halls who led the way with 44 in a steady opening partnership of 67 with Graeme Ormiston, before both batsmen found themselves back in the pavilion in quick succession. Neil Crooks was soon to join them, but Josh Irvine and Duncan Millar built a good partnership of 55 to steady the ship, before both perished within two runs of each other looking to increase the tempo as overs ran out. It was left to Dinesh Tharanga and Kenny Paterson to add 30 runs in the final overs and get the home side to what they hoped would be a competitive total of 165.

In reply, Edinburgh made a speedy start, with a little help from the home side who spilled a couple of early chances off the bowling of Robbie Pringle. Tharanga made the initial breakthroughs, removing Kumapparan and the dangerous George, the main beneficiary of Gala’s early handling mishaps.

Rory Hancock then came into the attack to devastating effect, picking up two wickets in each of his first two overs. Graeme Ormiston then removed Desai, and in Hancock’s second over Astley and Johnston were on their way back to the pavilion.

The introduction of Neil Crooks saw the visitors slump to 80 for 9 as Ross and Srinivasan were dismissed, but some productive hitting from Rayudu and defiance from Barrie, aided by some slack fielding by the home side as their intensity dropped with the winning post in sight, saw the visitors to 117 before Crooks bowled Barrie in the 36th over.


S. Halls, c Chapman b Astley 44

G. Ormiston, lbw b Kumapparan 19

J. Irvine, c Chapman b Johnston 29

N. Crooks, c Chapman b Kumapparan 8

D. Millar, b Rayudu 23

D. Tharanga, not out 18

K. Paterson, not out 9

Extras 15

Total for 5 165

Edinburgh South

W. George, c & b Tharanga 29

R. Kumapparan, c Moir b Tharanga 8

M. Chapman, c Millar b Hancock 14

P. Reddish, c S Halls b Hancock 3

I. Astley, lbw b Hancock 1

A. Desai, b Ormiston 3

N. Rayudu, not out 35

L. Johnston, c Millar b Hancock 0

I. Ross, c Tharanga b Crooks 4

K. Srinivasan, c Irvine b Crooks 0

A. Barrie, b Crooks 3

Extras 11

Total for 10 117