Brodie secures his shoot-off slot

<Digimax S600 / Kenox S600 / Digimax Cyber 630>
<Digimax S600 / Kenox S600 / Digimax Cyber 630>

WITH two trophies up for grabs, and in the last qualifying event before the winter Series shoot-off, there was a lot at stake during the first round on Sunday at Braidwood.

Donald Livingston (Edinburgh) started the day as favourite for the series, having achieved an average 1.5 placing over six shoots, but the situation was tight at the top.

Jim Brodie (Denholm) set out his stall in determined fashion, winning the Gamekeeper Statue on 38 ex 40, three clays clear of joint runners-up Stuart Donaldson (Dalkeith), Neil Redpath (Embleton) and Gordon Boertien (Lockerbie). That vital first place improved his series average to four and ensured his place in the shoot-off squad in two weeks’ time. Davie Scott (Haddington) and Stuart Rankine (Jedburgh) shared the third highest score of 34.

The contest for the Junior Shield (18 and under) was less clear cut.

Ryan Stewart (Melrose) and Michael Nairn (Galashiels) both carded 23, necessitating a shoot-off to determine the winner. Stewart just came out on top by a single point.

Round two resulted in a three-way tie between Brodie, Livingston and Bobby Bruce (Broxburn), all on 35, with Jack Carlyle (Dalton), Dave Allison (Hawick) and Lindsay Gordon (Preston Pans) closest on 33.

The result of the Aggregate Medal saw Brodie triumph on 73 ex 80, six points ahead of Livingston. Donaldson and Boertien both ended the day on 67.

The next competition is on March 27 when Livingston, 2010 Winter Series champ, will have the opportunity to defend his title over an 80-target layout against Donaldson 1.7, John Ross (Whitburn) 2.8, Gordon 3.7, and Brodie, Stuart Dawson (Bedlington) and Jim McPhillips (Bathgate), all 4.

Douglas Browning (Hawick) was drawn from the hat as the wild card entry, while Rankine and Kyle Smith (Dunbar) were named as joint first reserve 4.3. Joe Baumgart (Hawick) will officiate over the squad.

Running concurrently, Dave Allison is invited to defend the Best of the Rest trophy. The end of winter draw will also take place.

This is the last shoot of the season scheduled for winter hours. Entries close at noon.