Borders athletes set to vie for New Year honours

editorial image

The 146th New Year Sprint is due to be held at Musselburgh Racecourse next Wednesday and Thursday.

Competing off a mark of 7.25m, Jedburgh’s Craig Grieve (see feature story on page 64) has been drawn in the sixth heat and is looking forward to taking on the best pro runners in the country.

“I have enjoyed the preparation for the New Year sprint and I am fit and strong and off a decent mark. I should run okay so here’s hoping,” he said.

Going in the same heat is Craig’s TLJT running companion Jasmine Tomlinson (22m). Jasmine’s dad Darren runs from 15.50m in the opening heat.

Hawick’s Dylan Ali, a highly impressive victor of the 2014 sprint, has been placed on a mark of 5.50m by handicapper Adam Crawford.

Other Borderers represent: Hawick – Jack Wilson (13m), Gordon McPherson (13m), Drew Bryson (22.75m), David Rae (11.50m), John Paxton (17m), Lee Notman (11m), Leon Ali (11m) and Leigh Marshall (6.5m). Jedburgh – Eoin Lowther (12.5m), Kevin Amos (17m), Holly Mckay (24.5m), Martha Douglas (23m), Iain Heard (23.5m), Iskan Barskanmay (8m) and Scott Richardson (10m). Peebles – Amy Clancy (20.5m). Selkirk – Craig Bruce (12.25m), Colin Bruce (14m) and Geoff Keen (14.5m). Kelso – John Fleming (10.75m), Matthew Fleming (16m), David Mckay (16.50m), Fraser Neil (9.75m) and Andrew Hogarth (12.75m). TLJT –Mhairi Henderson (25m) and Angus Johnstone (12.5m). Innerleithen – Ryan Houten (11m) and Tommy Ashby (10m).

One of the early favourites to go all the way on the Musselburgh track is Cumbie Bowers of Glenrothes (8m).

Other senior races as well as youths’ events complete the Musselburgh card.