Big night at Shielfield for Grand Prix Qualifier

Share this article

It’s the Big One at Shielfield on Saturday night as Berwick Bandits host the FIM Grand Prix Qualifier.

Berwick’s Czech rider Matej Kus will fly the flag for club and country, enjoying home-track advantage.

With the likes of Hans Andersen, Kenneth Bjerre, Przemyslaw Pawlicki, Maciej Janowski, Chris Harris and Craig Cook in the line-up, Kus will not start as one of the favourites, but at least he can expect home support at Shielfield.

Current Grand Prix rider Harris is looking to retain his place in the series for 2014, while fellow-Brit Cook, who has made great strides in recent years, wants to establish himself on the international stage. Both are Shielfield experts and will be looking to grab one of the qualification places. Should the duo qualify from this event, they will be just one meeting away from the Grand Prix Challenge which this year takes place at Italian venue Lonigo.

Berwick promoter John Anderson said: “The quality of the riders speaks for itself. It is a very exciting line-up and I am sure we will be in for a great night’s racing.”

It has also been confirmed that the public will be permitted access to official practice earlier in the day.

Doors will be open from 11.45am until 2pm, with the riders on-track for one hour from 12.30pm.

Last Friday’s trek to Devon was a long way to go for one meeting, but Berwick Bandits maintained their 100 per cent Premier League status with a resounding 52-43 victory over the local Devils, hoisting the Tweedsiders to third place in the Premier League table.

The hero of the night was Steen Jensen, who took 14 points in what will be his final match at reserve, but every rider pulled their weight.

“Matej Kus was especially unlucky to lose two separate races on the last lap,” admitted team-manager-for-the-night Dennis McCleary. “Also, I was so pleased that the points scored by Liam Carr (three from three rides) made the difference between our getting four or only three Premier League points!”


Steen Jensen 13+1, Claus Vissing 10+2, Matthew Wethers 9+1, Kevin Doolan 8+1, Matej Kus 5+1, David Bellego 4+2, Liam Carr 3.