Belated praise for local Yara winners

APOLOGIES go to the Border gents who won the Yara a fortnight ago for not giving earlier mention of this fine effort, writes Alastair Lindsay.

Those responsible for the win are, in no particular order, James Stark, Andrew Reed, Alistair Hodge, Stuart Craig and J. Cannon. The latter is from the Stranraer area and, as many may know, he has an impeccable curling pedigree in the south-west.

Heartiest congratulations to all and, forbye that, the Low Road winning rink was skipped by Graeme Prentice, so a fine time was had for the Borders.

The recent Lauderdale Invitation Bonspiel was a single-session event with a full house in attendance, and was narrowly won by a rink skipped by Colin Stirling, the worthy secretary of the club.

The most recent Agrii Border League session on January 29 was also a full house with three titanic struggles – Earlston heading Kelso by a single shot, a similar result in favour of Swinton over Duns, and a peel between Jedburgh and Lammermuir. But, sadly, the titanic feature of the fourth game was the early sinking of Chirnside by Coldstream in spite of some late salvage shots by the losers.

Elsewhere, the Directors Trophy is virtually on the go and the Dickinson looms ever larger on the horizon.