Battling Borders Seniors make bowling history

editorial image
Share this article

Borders Bowling Association Seniors have won the prestigious Matt Purdie Trophy for the first time, following a confident win over Midlothian.

The team of 16 started their campaign in July at Kelso BC with a heavy 57-30 shot defeat to West Lothian. Week two saw a better effort, although the margin was narrow with the Borders winning 57-55 against Stirling County at Polmont.

Borders continued to improve in week three with a convincing win against West Fife at Inverkeithing, the score being 41-55, and thoughts were turning to the idea that the team could do well in this competition. Week four saw the Borderers travel to Queensferry where they duly trounced West Fife 57-44.

Played at St Ronans BC, week five started of in rather wet conditions, but both teams played well despite this and what a match it turned out to be with the score tied at 49-49 on the last end. The Borders dug deep and got a four to clinch their fourth win in a row.

Unfortunately, week six at Ayton was again very wet and the game looked in doubt. Hard work by the green staff, however, allowed the game to start and both teams agreed to try and play the 15 ends due to the importance of the situation. It went badly for the Borders, who eventually lost to West Fife by 60-50.

All was not lost, however, as once all the results were in, a final place was their’s.

The deciding match was against Midlothian at Armadale, a lovely day with sunshine and a slight breeze.

Midlothian quickly established a lead, but the determination of the Borders team showed through and from 10 ends to the finish their confidence held and they won the tie 67-47. A very proud and happy president Jim Cumming lifted the trophy on behalf of the Borders team.

The Borders travel to Kinoull Bowling Club in Perth on September 16 for a challenge match against the North, who run a similar competition.

Borders Seniors: J. Effingham, A. Black, B. Tait, W. Weir, P. Butterield, R. Fulton, H. Bell, T. Thorburn, B. Kimber, A. Gammie, A. Condi, G. Brownlee, B. Holloway, R. Bryson, J. Renton and B. Watson.