Around the fairways

Rotary Club of Galashiels & District President Elizabeth Pope presenting the trophy to Mary and Alastair Christie.
Rotary Club of Galashiels & District President Elizabeth Pope presenting the trophy to Mary and Alastair Christie.


THE Rotary Club of Galashiels held its annual sponsored Team Golf Competition for the New Millennium Quaich Trophy over Torwoodlee Golf Club.

St  Boswells Golf  champioship finalists

St Boswells Golf champioship finalists

Twenty-four teams of four took part and around £1,500 was raised for local charities. The main beneficiary of the cash raised will be the new Margaret Kerr Palliative Care Unit at Borders General Hospital.

The Rotary Club would like to thank the captain, committee, green and catering staff and members of Torwoodlee Golf Club along with the various individual sponsors

The weather was cool, but the conditions were excellent for golf.

Results: 1, 2 Drillys & 2 Scientists (Alastair Christie, Sandy Collins, Ian Thompson, Mary Christie); 2, The Four Mustgetbeers (Ian Thomson, Alan Thomson, Roy Thomson, Graeme Miller); 3, The Wobbley Bobs (David Allison Jr, David Allison Sen, Bill Russell, Billy Dixon).


Ladies Open: 1, E. Millar nett 73 BIH; 2, K. Telfer 73; 3, A. Teague 74. Scratch: J. Anderson 79. Thanks to all sponsors.

June Medal: 1, A. Martin 97 (23) 74; 2, R. Middlemass 108 (32) 76. Scratch: J. Anderson 80.


Dick Brown Shield: 1, I. Symons 90 (22) 68; 2= R. Thorburn 90 (21) 69, G. Taylor 77 (8) 69, K. Wilson 83 (14) 69, B. Anderson 79 (10) 69, S. Pettigrew 76 (7) 69. Scratch: P. Henderson 75.

Club Championship final: winner, I. Lauder; runner-up, I. Ford. Ladies’ championship final: winner, S. Paterson; runner-up, Fiona Ker. Boys’ championship final: winner, A. Fortune; runner-up, C. Logan. Donaldson Trophy: winner, A. Malone; runner-up, S. Cessford. Margaret Millar Trophy: winner, B. Taylor; runner-up, B. Liddle.

SLGA Flag Brooch (third Championship Qualifier) Scratch: 1, S. Paterson 76; 2, D Ker 79.


Open Greensomes: L. Owen & J. Brown nett 71; 2, M. McGee & V. McKean 71.2; 3, L. Wallace & Linda Ritchie 72.8. Scratch: J. Whiteford & A. Fleming 86.


Ladies Medal (3)/Teviotdale Cup (3): Silver Division winner, F. Kerr 96 (20) 76; Scratch, D. Elliot 92; Bronze Division winner, A. Paterson 98 (23) 75; Scratch, F. Walton 102. Medal Winner, A. Paterson.


Championship Finals Day (sponsored by D. S. Dalgleish): Ladies’ Silver Championship, M. Allan beat P. Baillie; Ladies’ Bronze Championship: G. Oliver beat C. Renton; Gents’ Championship: C. Ovens beat S. Makepeace; Gents’ B Championship, J. MacDonald beat M. Ovens. Gents’ C Championship, I. Hyde beat L. Bell; Seniors’ Championship, K. Ovens beat J. Tait.

The Gents’ Seniors Open takes place on Wednesday, July 4, while the Juniors’ Open is on Sunday, July 8. Contact Sue Brooks on 01835 823527 for tee times.


Tuesday Stroke: 1, J. Penny 67 (5) 62; 2, J. Berry 69 (2) 67 bih; 3, J. Brownlee 73 (6) 67; 4, D. G. Gillie 68 (0) 68.

Championship Qualifier (2): 1, Stanley Irvine 89 (24) 65; 2, L. Gillie 75 (8) 67; 3, A. Lawrie 68 (0) 68 bih.