Around the clubs


A fine night greeted 23 riders for Gala Cycling Club’s annual John Fairbairn Memorial 25-mile time trial and East of Scotland Cycling Association Championship race.

The event was won by Silas Goldsworthy of Sandy Wallace Cycles in 55 minutes 34 seconds, pipping Gala’s top rider, Gary Robson, by nine seconds.

In third position was Kenny Darling, from Kelso Wheelers, in 58 minutes.

The highlight of the evening was a new ladies’ ESCA record of 59.42 achieved by Jessica Wilson Young from Edinburgh Road Club.

Gary Robson, Scot Purves and Bill Lowes were the fastest vets in their respective categories.

Gala placings: 1, G. Robson 55.43; 9, G. Lawrie 1.01.03; 10, S. Mills 1.01.36; 12, S. Purves !.03.13; 15. B. Hamilton 1.04.35; 17, S. Lowes 1.05.38; 19, A. Pogson 1.07.21 (second lady); 20, B. Lowes 1.07.39.


ON Monday, Kelso Wheelers held a 20-mile time trial on the St Boswells course.

Seventeen riders took part in near-perfect conditions, resulting in 11 riders recording personal best times, with the ever-improving Simon Gaunt knocking approximately six minutes off his personal best.

Results: 1, K. Darling 45.19; 2, J. Smith 45.50pb; 3, R. Laidlaw 46.32pb; 4, D. Burgher 47.24pb; 5, D. Richardson 50.24pb; 6, Rob Ure 50.29; 7, F. McColl 51.22pb; 8, S. Gaunt 51.32pb; 9, B. Sweenie 51.54pb; 10, R. Connell 52.07; 11, G. Easson 52.11pb; 12, K. Wilson 52.59; 13, J. Gayzcak 54.42pb; 14, D. Blythe 55.31pb; 15, James Blythe 59.26pb; 16, D. Small 59.35; 17, G. Dalglish 60.08pb.

Next week is 12-mile championship time trial on the Orange Lane course – sign in at Woodside Park no later than 6.30pm.