It's all coming together down by the Riverside

It's all coming together down by the Riverside

Jed-Forest 44

Falkirk 24


LAING SPEIRS reports from Riverside Park

Lifting their game to heights unseen this season, Jed saw off an unbeaten and physically superior side which had been setting much of the pace in Division Two.

With a five-try bonus-earning win Jed picked up their first home league victory of the season, playing with a steely determination that overcame Falkirk's creative backs and powerful pack.

In a game of 68 points and seven tries there were many colourful moments, the best of which was Jed's final try, scored by replacement Lewis Young.

It came from a surge downfield with some splendid handling and back-up play that was a tribute to the fitness of the many players involved.

The game started modestly with penalties to each side scored by Ewan Scott and David Adamson. The first of the game's yellow cards went to Falkirk prop David Jamieson and Jed scored immediately through Scott Laidlaw.

Within two minutes Jed's Romanian prop Alexandrou Criotoru drove over for a try, Adamson kicked another penalty, and the game began to feature big waves of Falkirk attacks.

The impressive Bob Wylie scored, Adamson converted, but Jed's Robert Hogg brought the house down with the neatest of chips, gathering to score at the posts, giving his team a half-time lead of 27-13.

A brief threat came from Adamson's two penalties, but Gary Hill settled home nerves with a try, created by Chris Laidlaw.

Even a yellow card presented to fullback Scott couldn't stop the home side, Chris Laidlaw kicking a penalty in his absence before Craig Sangster scored from far out for Falkirk.

Jed were coasting, with Young's dramatic score ending a highly satisfactory day for the home side. Scott scored five conversions and two penalties, but it was a team performance that took Jed up the league table.

Jed-Forest: E. Scott; R. Hogg, G. Young, G. Hill, D. Gobby; C. Laidlaw, R. Goodfellow; R. Ferguson, David Grieve, A. Croitoru, P. Hill, N. Cook, S. Laidlaw, A. Nagle, D. Gillespie. Subs: G. Wardle, M. Weekley, Donald Grieve, L. Young.