All right on The Gala Rig say race meeting organisers

Golden Mile -  Colin 'Shavie' Davis, one of the owners of winner Mr Mo recieves the trohpy and the �1000 cheque from committee member and judge Gary Haldane.
Golden Mile - Colin 'Shavie' Davis, one of the owners of winner Mr Mo recieves the trohpy and the �1000 cheque from committee member and judge Gary Haldane.

The Race Meeting on the Gala Rig last Friday has been hailed a roaring success by organisers who say that without doubt it was one of the best supported ever.

The sun was high in the sky and the atmosphere in the paddock was electric as a packed afternoon of both professional and balloted racing got underway.

“In terms of support, from the public and horse owners alike, it is the best we have had for many years,” said Craig Stanners, Convenor of Selkirk Race Committee.

“I would like to thank all who those who supported us. This kind of backing ensures the longevity of the meeting, and continued success.”

The feature race of the day, The Selkirk Golden Mile, sponsored by Mr and Mrs Paul Rooney, provided great excitement with its first prize of £1000 and with six runners on their best form all having a chance.

Top weight Full Of Magic had the fast ground he prefers and opened favourite but there was money for Jupiter, who was disappointing in the Tradesmans, and also Mr.Mo, who finished a good second the previous week.

As the runners swung into the final bend Chookie took over in front with Jupiter and Full Of Magic looking like the main dangers but, as Chookie dropped away tamely, young Jamie Gormley got a great run up the inside from Mr.Mo,
who went on to get his head 
in front inside the final furlong and push on to win by a 
length from Jupiter and Full Of Magic.

“Special thanks must go to Mr and Mrs Paul Rooney, of Monksford, St Boswells for their financial support once again,” added Mr Stanners.

“We would also like to thank Marjorie McNaughton for supplying the horses for the balloted races, Gary Cleghorn for keeping everyone musically entertained after the racing, the stall holders, and all of our banner and programme sponsors too.”

The next meeting on the 
Gala Rig will be the Selkirk Flapping Association meeting on Saturday August 15 where there will be professional racing, a Pony Race along the finishing straight and children’s foot races prior to the horse racing.

More details will appear on these pages, and on the Selkirk Flapping Association Facebook page in the weeks before the event.


Licensed Victuallers Handicap (7 FUR): 1, Coco Chanel (Raeburn Racing) Gary Berridge; 2, Too Elusive (Pim, Jock, Edd and Dago) Sean Huggan; 3, Whats It All About (Buck Racing) Jamie Gormley.

Jess McWilliams Memorial Trophy: 1, Fiona McDonald; 2, Jennifer Stott; 3, Zara Bell.

The Peatlaw Handicap: 1, Wee Al (Alasdair Clark) Alasdair Clark; 2, The Gambler (G, J and A) Erin Cagney; 3, He’s A Star (Colin & Chris Robb) Gary Berridge.

The William Lees Memorial Trophy: 1, Gavin Young; 2, Gary Beaumont; 3, Sam Coltherd.

The Standard Bearers Cup: 1, Stuart Coltherd; 2, Ian Rodgerson (James Scott Trophy); 3, Gavin Henderson; last, Brian Rodgerson (Pat Wilson Trophy).

The Selkirk Golden Mile: 1, Mr.Mo (Flex Racing) Jamie Gormley; 2, Jupiter (The Deedliewegs) Sean Huggan; 3, Full of Magic (The Magic Fools) Gary Berridge.

The Alexander Munro Memorial Trophy: 1, Nathan Mill; 2, Sam Coltherd; 3, Gary Beaumont.

The Forest Handicap (6 FUR): 1, Eye Candy (Highfield Racing) Jamie Gormley; 2, Kalahari Desert (Whita Well Racing) Titch Boyd; 3, Boo Boo (Johnny Redpath) Erin Cagney.