Vale lift themselves after remarkable encounter

Marc Berry, in blue, opened the scoring for Vale of Leithen (stock image).
Marc Berry, in blue, opened the scoring for Vale of Leithen (stock image).

Vale of Leithen 5

Edusport Academy 4

Vale of Leithen won a remarkable game on Saturday against the skilful French side after twice seeing a two-goal lead disappear at Victoria Park.

The three points were very much needed by Chris Anderson’s team, after they’d concluded 2018 with a 6-0 battering by Gala Fairydean Rovers.

Vale made their fans sweat after being ahead by 2-0 and then 3-1, only to see their visitors draw level both times.

It looked all sweet for the hosts when Marc Berry put them in front after a quarter of an hour and Brad Rixon made it 2-0 a couple of minutes later.

Things looked even better in the 26th minute when Vale of Leithen were awarded a penalty and Edusport centre-half Theo Couve was shown a red card.

However, the first ominous signs for the hosts came when goalkeeper Solal Pelmard-Bassi saved the spot kick.

McBride then handed Edusport a way back in when he scored an own goal in the 41st minute, making the half-time score 2-1.

In the second period, Ryan Currie eased Vale’s discomfort with a 51st-minute goal.

But Alex Abadie pulled one back shortly afterwards for the Academy and it was 3-2.

In 64 minutes, Matthew Flynn grabbed the away side’s equaliser.

But Vale showed impressive composure to recapture the lead, with a goal in 66 minutes from Liam Ireland putting them 4-3 in front.

Brad Rixon looked to have given the home side a bit more breathing space with their fifth goal, and his own second, after 79 minutes.

But Edusport ensured a nerve-jangling last couple of minutes by finding the net one more time to make the final score 5-4.

Vale of Leithen: R. Gilpin, M. Brogan, R. Brady, C. McBride, A. Imlah, G. Rossi, R. Currie, M. Berry, L. Ireland, B. Rixon, S. Stewart. Subs: K. Beveridge, A. Hunter, J. Elliott, J. Smith.

Edusport Academy: Solal Pelmard-Bassi, Jean Guy Lucas, Max Oulhaito, Ali El Zubaidi, Theo Couve, Hugo Catherine, Jordan Alexandre, Scott McGlaughlin, Matthew Flynn, Marc Kelly, Lewis Gamble. Subs: Alex Abadie, Matt Kerr, Mark McKenna, Calvin Cowie, Liam Coogans.