Just Champion – Ancrum FC crown season of success

editorial image

Ancrum were crowned Border Amateur League Division B champions for the first time in 20 years after beating Stow 4-3 in last week’s midweek title decider.

As well as winning the league, Grant Davidson’s men became Walls Cup Champions, were runners-up in the Wright Cup and made the South Cup semi-finals. Not bad for a squad of 20 players.

Davidson told TheSouthern: “Last season we missed out on promotion which was hard to take as we had been unbeaten for 16 games and all we needed was a point from our last six. One by one we were beaten though and we missed out on promotion on goal difference. I think that is what makes this year so special.

“There were a lot of nerves in some of the games. But to their credit the lads seem to have learned from last season and got through it this time.”

Stow only needed a point to lift the title last week and looked well on course after going 2-0 up thanks to a Martin Gibson double at the Netherdale 3G Arena.

But Chris Johnston and Ashley Langford pulled Ancrum level before Grant Robinson’s free kick put his team ahead for the first time. Daniel Gillie made it 4-2 to ensure James Runciman’s late goal for Stow was merely a consolation. The team dedicated their success this season to Ancrum stalwart Tommy Munro who dedicated 60 years of his life to the club before he died in spring this year.

Looking ahead, Davidson added: “We played Gala in the South Cup semi and that has given us an idea of what to expect next season. That is the kind of football we want to be playing though and everyone is up for it.”

Ancrum have played 34 games this season. They have won 25, drawn in two, lost seven, had 102 goals for and 59 against. On top of this, the team have chalked up the tremendous feat of winning nine penalty shoot outs in a row. An achievement, we believe, that has only been equalled by Bradford FC.

Ancrum AFC Squad 2012/13: Sean Jack, Craig Tibbits, Chris Johnston, Stuart Tuddenham, Greg McGovern, Chris Davies, Cameron Bell, Brian Wilson, Kyle Finlayson, Grant Robinson, Keith Chapman, Clark Scott, Stuart Spence, Jamie Amos, Steven Thomas, Euan Armstrong, Daniel Gillie, Ashley Langford, Craig Hall, Neil McGuigan.