Club excel on Borders and Scottish circuit

editorial image

PRESIDENT John Steede has reported on another highly successful season for the Tweed Leader Jed Track (TLJT) athletics club.

The club recorded over 70 successes in senior and youth events throughout the season as well as a multitude of placings in a highly competitive athletic games scene.

Speaking at his club’s annual prize-giving, Steede stated that the club is going from strength to strength and it was pleasing that so many youngsters were being attracted to the sport in general which augurs well for the future.

“All the athletes have worked hard over the season and this dedication had paid off with many superb performances from seniors and youths,” he added.

TLJT chairman Bruce Scott congratulated all the athletes from the club who competed successfully for the Team Borders squad in the Forth Valley League Division 1. He also revealed that the club had 11 winners at the Border School Championships with two new records, double titles for four athletes, one East District champion, one East District silver medal, two National finalists, one National B final winner and one Over Seventy gold medallist at the Scottish Masters Championships.

Team Borders had 17 TLJT athletes competing with six selected for the Presidents team.

Special awards were also presented to Josh Dougall and Adam Leighton. Both athletes were ranked No.1 in the UK in the 150m and high jump in their respective age groups early in the year.

Thanks were accorded to Bruce Scott and Tommy Finkle in their roles as chairman and secretary, and their contribution on the coaching side, Wendy and Kayley Henderson, for their administration work with memberships, the web Site and Kayley as Welfare and Child protection officer.

Mick Scott was also thanked for his contribution of photographs throughout the 2013 Border Games circuit. All the other coaches were also thanked for their efforts throughout the season, giving up a lot of time for the benefit of the club.

The Club championships were not held this year due to the closure of the track at Tweedbank but the following awards were made during the evening.

President’s Trophy: Greg Turnbull (Borders 100m & British 90m champion). Athlete Of Year: Tom Finkle. Junior Athlete (Male): Cameron Clamp; Junior Athlete (Female): Amy Simpson. Youth Athlete (Male) Eoin Lowther. Youth Athlete (Female) Philippa Robertson. Special Award: Gavin Maule.