All the right moves? – ins and outs

Share this article

Vale of Leithen

Ground: Victoria Park

Colours: Navy

Captain: TBA

Chairperson: Ken Brown

Manager: Robbie Horn. Assistant: Jamie Burrell

Coach: Colin Affleck

In: Jordan Hall (Whitehill Welfare), Chris Hill (Newtongrange Star), Stuart Martin (Preston Athletic), Jamie Paterson (Lochend Amateurs), Stephen Sproule, Ryan McKenzie (Craigroyston).

Out: Graeme Cole, Kerr Dodds (Spartans), Paul Doohan, Darren Gillon (Newtongrange Star), John Hall, Darren Walker (Whitehill Welfare), Andy Milligan (Craigroyston).

Comment: “We are capable of competing with the sides at the top of the table and a top-five finish is not an unrealistic aim for us. We will be looking to do better in the cup competitions than last season and in the Scottish Cup in particular. I’d like to think we’ll end the season with a trophy.” Robbie Horn

Final league position 2010/11: 7th (Premier Division)


Ground: Yarrow Park

Colours: Blue and White

Captain: John Dodds

Chairperson: Jim Moody

Manager: Bryan Templeton. Assistants: Dave Main, Mike McKinnon.

In: Ryan Pritchard, Ryan Clapperton, William Mercer (Selkirk Victoria), Daryl Burdett, Johnny Watt, Jamie Higginbottom (North Berwick), Dave Battle (Hawick Legion)

Out: Grant Gass, Jay Wilson (Gala Fairydean), Des Sutherland, Shaun Hardie (Gala Rovers)

Comment: “This year it will be a real test again to stay in the top flight, but we will be there doing what we always do and that is fight to the end and I am more than sure we will be there at the end of the year. I wish the players who left us all the best. I am sure that the experience they got at Selkirk will serve them well. We have also brought in a new face to help out in the dugout. Mike McKinnon has a lot of knowledge and he has played at a high level, and I am sure he will be a great asset to the club.” Jim Moody

Final league position 2010/11: 10th (Premier Division)

Gala Fairydean

Ground: Netherdale

Colours: Black and White

Captain: TBA

Chairperson: Joss Ritchie

Manager: Fraser Lothian. Assistant: Ally McCulloch

Coach: Garry Fraser

In: Jay Wilson, Grant Gass (Selkirk), Geri Rossi (OTJ Moravany), Bruce Hunter, Rob Hewitson (Stow), Gary Lothian (Earlston Rhymers) Jack Hay, Declan Leckie, Ryan Sclater (Gala Fairydean Under-19s).

Out: Chris Anderson (Spartans), Allan Smith (Dunfermline Athletic), Paul Sutherland, Keith Boyes (Spartans Juniors).

Comment: “We are looking forward to the new season and hope to bring in another two new faces to make it the strongest squad we’ve had at club. Hopefully we can put in a big challenge for promotion and get Gala Fairydean back up to the Premier Division. We have a tough league cup section with five games to start the season and this will be good preparation for the tough league campaign ahead.” Fraser Lothian

Final league position 2010/11: 4th (First Division)

Peebles Rovers

Ground: Whitestone Park

Colours: Red and White

Captain: Nicky Cairns

Chairperson: Colin McDonald

Manager: Stuart Robertson. Assistant: Derek Lermond.

In: Raymond Fleming, Ronald Fleming (Loanhead), Andy Williamson (Edinburgh University), Steven Galloway, Scott Downie, Gary Knox (unknown).

Out: Keith Hartop, Elliot Black, Kevin Martin, Bruce Callan.

Comment: “Things have settled down a bit at the club and we are looking forward to the new season. There is a good atmosphere at Whitestone Park and our main objective now is to get into the Premier League.” Stuart Robertson

Final league position 2010/11: 7th (First Division)

Kelso United

Ground: Woodside Park

Colours: Black and White

Captain: TBA

Chairperson: Mike Tait

Manager: Tom ‘Prof’ Blaikie. Assistant: Peter McNulty

Coach: Alex Douglas

In: Jordan Lauder (Chirnside), Jamie Hogarth, Craig Ferguson (Kelso Thistle), Jamie Swailes (Gretna 2008).

Out: Paul Dumma.

Comment: “We are looking forward to the new season, we have still the nucleus of the team from last season plus are giving some young lads an opportunity to come through.” Prof Blaikie

Final league position 2010/11: 10th (First Division)

Hawick Royal Albert

Ground: Albert Park

Colours: Royal Blue and Red

Captain: TBA

Chairperson: Graeme Paxton

Manager: Mick Murphy. Assistant: Stuart Sharkey

Coaching team: Chris Monaghan (head coach), Davie Aitken, Malcolm Cooper.

In: Bryan Tait, Andrew Maltman, Roddy McConnell, Peter Gellaitry, Jody Easdon (Hawick Legion), Kevin McGaughey, Jordan Yardley, Chris Monaghan, Kyle Finlayson (Hawick Waverley), Connor Robb (Dumfries).

Out: Most of 2010/11 team.

Comment: “There has been a lot of hard work going on behind the scenes and there is a lot of hard work still to do. My main plan is to have a Hawick team and the response has been great so far. We’ll see how it goes and if I feel I need to go elsewhere to fill in the gaps I will. It’s all going to take time, but the club is moving forward.” Mick Murphy

Final league position 2010/11: 12th (First Division)