Countdown to Celebration of Sport

Celebration of Sport Awards.
Celebration of Sport Awards.

Borders Sport & Leisure is urging local residents to make sure they cast their final votes in this year’s Celebration of Sport Awards.

Voting in the public categories, which include Sports Personality of the Year, Team of the Year and Inspirational Performance of the Year will close on Thursday, February 27.

The winners of these and the other nine awards will be revealed at a special ceremony and dinner being held at the Macdonald Cardrona hotel on February 28.

Ewan Jackson , chief executive of Borders Sport & Leisure said: “The public are really getting behind the awards again this year and the votes are flooding in.

“With only a week to go the countdown is now on and we’d like to remind anyone who hasn’t yet voted to call or text to make sure they have their say in deciding our final winners.”

Sponsored by GB Telecom, the awards aim to recognise sporting and coaching talent across the region. There are also three special accolades that will be given by the judging panel for Positive Coaching, Junior Sports Personality and an induction into the Scottish Borders Sporting Hall of Fame.

The Olympic Flame passes through Gordon on route to London. Callum Airlie from Gordon brings the torch into his hometown.

The Olympic Flame passes through Gordon on route to London. Callum Airlie from Gordon brings the torch into his hometown.

Gordon Brown, MD of GB Telecom, headline sponsor of the BSL Celebration of Sport Awards, commented: “We are all looking forward to this year’s event and to recognising the rich diversity of sporting talent across the region.

“As a company we have longstanding sporting links ranging from previous sports based sponsorship to supporting and encouraging our staff in their sporting endeavours. I am even planning on cycling from Coast to Coast with my colleague Mark Moncrieff for charity this summer.

“I am sure we will both be able to draw inspiration for our challenge from the achievements of this year’s winners and nominees.”

The other award categories and nominations that will be featured on the night are: Coach of the Year (Alex Jordan – swimming; Ian Grant – cycling; Henry Gray – athletics); Club of the Year (Peebles Cycling Club; Chirnside Boxing Club; Roxburgh Reivers Orienteering Club); Event of the Year (British Motocross Championships – Duns; Tweedlove Cycling Festival; Melrose Sevens), Disability Sports Performance of the Year (Patrick Wilson – boccia; Samantha Kinghorn – athletics; Beth Johnston – swimming) and Service to Sport (John Rutherford – rugby; Derek Paterson – football; Ian Scott Watson – motor sport).

A small number of tickets to the event, which includes a drinks reception, dinner and awards ceremony, are still available and can be purchased by contacting Borders Sport and Leisure on 01896 661 166.

Readers can vote for their favourite nominees in the public categories by calling 01896 242008 or texting the vote code of their choice to 01896 242008.