All the weekend action from Cowdenbeath Racewall

It turned out to be a Honeyman weekend at the Cowdenbeath Racewall in the saloons with Paul winning the Superbowl on Saturday night before Stevie won the Gordon Barclay memorial trophy then an exciting Dash for the Cash to round off the weekend.

By Jim Turner
Monday, 26th October 2015, 8:43 am

On the downside there was one rollover and yes it was a Honeyman who did so – Greg in fact.

Kyle Hegg, who won both of his heats on Saturday night brought out his car in the Gordon Barclay colours and made a big hit with the fans when they saw the car appear on the track whilst on Sunday Callum Barclay drove the car.

Chris Burgoyne dominated the formula II races winning four and in doing so closed the gap in the race for the National Points race considerably.

Elexie Bartram won the inaugural microf2 Scottish Cup in an exciting race.

Amongst the formula II drivers in action were Sean McFerran and Willie Murray from Northern Ireland whilst the local driver was Brian Hogg Jnr (Berwick)

Hogg had qualified for the Champion of Champions final, which was only open to those who had won a race at the Racewall and whilst he led initially dropped back and finished in ninth place.

Hogg Jnr then picked up another ninth place in the opening heat but wasn’t classified in any of his other races.

There was a good turnout of saloons for the Superbowl with World Champion Simon Welton making his first appearance since winning the title.

Heat winners were Ryan Santry and then Kyle Hegg came out on top in heats two and three.

Paul Honeyman then went on to win the Superbowl from Anthony McIvor and Stuart Shevill Jnr.

Locals in the minis were with Euan Millar winning the Dash for the tyre race leading home Steven Burgoyne and Mitch Gold. Bryan Lindsay won heat one from Sean Naismith and Jamie Connacher. Burgoyne then won heat three where he led home Millar and Lindsay.

The Scrutineers Shield was won by Naismith who finished ahead of Millar and Burgoyne.

There was a large turnout of microf2s with the drivers points scored deciding their start position for the Scottish Shield on Sunday. Jamie Dawson won two heats whilst Sam Carter took the other two.

On Sunday the saloons again raced in a two thirds format with Heeps winning heat one from Graeme Anderson and Greg Honeyman. Stevie Honeyman then won heat two from Michael Allard and Ryan Wright with heat three going to Joey Palmer and Jacob Downey.

The Gordon Barclay Memorial trophy race was hard fought with the drivers going all out to win. S. Honeyman was closing fast on Michael Allard andt. On the last bend Honeyman made a telling challenge sending Allard wide and bouncing off the wall as he slid through to win from Allard and Danny Colliver.

The Dash for the Cash race saw the cars line up bumper to bumper and whilst it was an all Irish front row Joey Palmer got into the lead only to be spun by Kieran McIvor However when Palmer restarted he collected the McIvor car only for Anthony McIvor to move ahead. Next time around Palmer took out the leader and it was a grateful S. Honeyman who charged through to win.

The stock rod heats went to Stuart McKinnon who was just ahead of Paul Prentice (Selkirk) and then to James Gray with Prentice seventh. Michael Bethune went on to win the Turner trophy final from Gray and McKinnon with Prentice seventh.

That is basically the end of the season at the Cowdenbeath Racewall although there are quite a few meetings to take place south of the border where Chris Burgoyne and George MacMillan Jnr have to decide as to who will be the National Points Champion.

The festive meeting takes place on Sunday 27 December and features BriSCA formula IIs, minis, prostox and Big Van bangers. The meeting, subject to weather conditions, will start as usual at 1.00pm.