Villagers dress the part for festival

Walkerburn Fancy Dress. Cow girls, Kayla Amos and Abbey Amos.
Walkerburn Fancy Dress. Cow girls, Kayla Amos and Abbey Amos.
Share this article

THE gods must have been smiling on Walkerburn, with the village’s annual festival seeing hardly a drop of rain during its entire week-long programme of events.

The 2012 proceedings kicked off on Sunday, June 24, with a kirkin’ service at the village hall, which also included the laying of a wreath at the war memorial. There was a good turn-out for the bike ride to Elibank, also on Sunday.

Monday evening saw a packed village hall for the festival concert, which included the installation of Festival Lass Laura Young and presentation of the Walkerburn Essay Prize to Jamie Buchan.

Tuesday featured the children’s sports, with the youngsters’ scavenger hunt following the next evening.

Thursday was the date for the Festival Principals’ Party in the village hall, with the fancy dress contest and parade on the Friday night. A laser light show, torchlight procession and bonfire rounded the day off.

On Saturday there was the adult sports and family fun day at Caberston Haugh, while Sunday saw the crowds out again, this time for the boat race.

Festival secretary Eric Lavender said he was delighted with the way everything went.

“All our events were really well supported with both numbers of entries and spectators,” he told TheSouthern this week.

“The school concert was very well attended, so much so, in fact, that we needed to put out extra chairs. Molly McIntosh MBE presented all the winners with their prizes. And we were really lucky with the weather. It stayed fine and dry all week – in fact, I think we had the best weather of all the Borders festivals so far.”

Fancy Dress Results

Boys’ under-5s – 1, Jack Ewart; 2, Thomas Wilson; 3, Shayne Antingham.

Girls’ under-5s – 1, Bailey Hunter; 2, Kayleigh Rodger; 3, Torch Bearer.

Boys’ 5-8 – 1, Greg Rodger; 2, Murray Anderson; 3, Jonty.

Girls’ 5-8 – 1, Caden Hunter; 2, Regan Lambert; 3, Talie Antingham.

Mixed ages – 1, Blair Forrester; 2, Aran Houston; 3, Abbie Nisbet.

Couple under-10 – 1, Abbie & Kayla Cassidy; 2, Erin Buchan & Harry Wilson; 3, Josh Meldrum & Logan Ashworth.

Couple over-11 – 1, Gregor Forrest & Glen Stevens.

Adult (16-plus) – 1, Colin Kerr; 2, Jake Melrose; 3, Jane Young.

Three or more (up to 16) – 1, Walkerburn Super Heroes.

Three or more (over 16) – 1, Where’s Wally.

Decorated motorised vehicle – 1, HMS Jubilee (Innerleithen Rotary Club).

Non-motorised vehicle – 1, Summer Stevens & Skye Connoe; 2, Lauren Ashworth; 3, Rachel & Lisa Anderson.

Outstanding entry – HMS Jubilee.

Adult sports – New Zealand Trophy, winner Steven Fleming; Ballantyne Cup, winner Carolyn Hunter.