Trophies spread around the Borders at Duns Show

The Berwickshire County Show is always a great time for old friends to catch up and despite the slight blip in the weather this year’s show was no exception.

Duns Castle grounds are a pefect setting for the show stands, cattle, sheep, horses, ponies, poulty vintage vehicles and food and drink stands and there was plenty to see and do throughout the day.

Judging took place in the morning, then Duns Pipe Band heralded the start of the main ring events for the afternoon which included quack commandos, and livestock parade, pony club games, vintage vehicle parade, gundog demonstration, hunting hounds, terrier racing and children’s sports.

The Aberdeen Angus cow, Halbeath Kim owned by Andrew Hodge, Rulesmains Farm, Duns swept the board in the cattle section and was also awarded the BAA Angora Cup for the overall show champion.


The overall champion in the cattle section, and winner of the R J Forrest Cup and Centenary Trophy, was Halbeath Kim, an Aberdeen Angus cow with an April born calf owned by Andrew Hodge of Rulesmains Farm, Duns.

Bought last year, she was fifth at the Highland Show this year and was female champion and reserve overall at Kelso’s Border Union Show.

Reserve champion was Golden Delicious, a Charolais heifer owned by Ross MacPherson of Castlehills Farm, Berwick.

Limousin champion was Meadowrig Eva, a home bred five-year-old cow owned by Renton and Redden Partners, Berwick, who also won the multibreed section with their British Blue bull.

Best Simmental, and winner of the NFU Mutual Cup was a cow owned by A and K Gamble of Palace Farm, Crailing; best Limousin, winner of the Broadmeadows Quaich, was the under two years bull, Meadowrig Ivan, of Renton and Redden; winner of the Challenge Cup for Champion Aberdeen Angus was Halbeath Kim, the Aberdeen Angus cow shown by A Hodge; and winner of the Chapman and Frearson Perpetual Challenge Trophy for best Aberdeen Angus of opposite to the champion was J & W Arnott; the Lloyds Tractor Trophy and Cross Bred Cattle Cup winner was the heifer Golden Delicious shown by Ross MacPherson; Berwickshire Agricultural Association Cup in Cross Bred Cattle section was James Anderson; RJF Challenge Cup, James Anderson.


Overall sheep champion was a Texel shearling ram owned by J and P Anderson of Headshaw, Oxton.

Home bred by Teviot Topper out of a Tweed ewe he was being shown for the first time and is going to Kelso Ram Sales in September.

Reserve champion and winner of the Moira Ingoldsby Cup was the Blue Faced Leicester of Bill Hedley.

Champion blackfaced and winner of the Hopes Silver Rose Bowl was the ram of Prof Penny.

Suffolk champion and winner of the Millar Salver was the ewe of R Laing & Sons; winner of the Derek McLain Cup and the J D Wilson Millennium Tankard was the ram shearling of R G Laing & Sons.

Winner of the Northfield Bowl for best Scotch Mule & Greyfaced was the ewe of J W Fullarton & Sons. The Lord Brockett trophy for best Blue Faced Leicester also went to J W Fullarton; The Broxmouth Perpetual Challenge Trophy in the Multibreed Sheep category was won by James Royan’s ram; and the Greendykes Bowl for Prime Cross Bred Lambs was won by Murray Perring. Mr and Mrs A Bain took home the G E & J Meikle Perpetual Trophy and R K& B Sharp Rose Trophy in the Shetland Sheep category.


The Silver Perpetual Challenge Cup for the best young hunting stock under four years was won by Broadstone Love Affair, shown by Lorna Aylward who also won the Championship Paxtgon Agricultural Society Cup; The Manderson Bowl for best ridden and working hunter classes went to Clive Storey on Barney; the Silver Perpetual Challenge Cup for the best hunter bred in the county of Berwick was Doreen Calder’s Just Joey; and the Young Trophy for highest placed veteran horse was won by Equibuddy, with Hopevalley Sparky.


The Millennium Trophy for the overall champion was won by Jane Dow with Dessie Island; The Glen Silver Perpetual Challenge Cup was also won by Jane Dow with Dessie Island; and the Silver Salver for best member of the Berwickshire Pony Club went to Fiona Robson and Bobby Dazzler.

In the Riding Pony Classes the Lady Clementine Waring Perpetual Challenge Cup was won Lucy Brown with Waxwing Rosary; and the Andrew Hamilton Cup was won by Olivia Prentice and Chandler. The Mountain and Moorland champion Hopelaws Perpetual Challenge Trophy was won by James Whiteford Fuinseoig Boy. Winner of the Stair Brown Perpetual Challenge Cup for children’s pony gymkhana games was Katy McFadyen on Carla.


The Barclays Bank Perpetual Challenge Trophy for junior jumping was won by Ellie Meldrum and Sylvester 60; and the West Cumberland Farmers Trading Society Ltd Rose Bowl, minor adult jumping competition was won by Louise Clark on Kalewater Creme Brulee.


In the poulty classes, entry numbers were very similar to last year, the Poultry Cup for overall champion going to the German Langshan male bird belonging to D P Fontana from Peebles. The Renton Cup for reserve champion also went to D P Fontana, winning with a Cockin female; and the D Cochrane Shield for best exhbit in show and best junior championship went to Lewis Renton.


Cup Winners: Silver Bowl for individual with most points - Catherine Dickson; Homecraft Shield, SWRI with most points - Ayton; BAA Challenge Cup for (SWRI branch with 20 members or less, with highest points - Allanton; Steel Cup for farm produce - Jo Scott; Baillie Cup for jams etc - Maureen Cranston; Wightman Cup for baking - Catherine Dickson; Mitchell Cup for hand knitting - Elizabeth Berry; Elspeth Cup (miscellaneous) - Maureen Cranston; Forrest Cup for flowers - Aileen Orr; Mole Cup (under 15 years) - Ellen Hamilton; Miller Cup for stick dressing - John Rennie; Prentice Trophy, stick dressing best in show - John Rennie.

The Scottish Oils Trophy (large stands) - Peter Redpath Tyres Ltd; Peter Redpath (large stands) Reserve - Greenvale AP Ltd; Peter Redpath (small stands) - Woodland Management Services; Ian Peek Cup (craft exhibit) - Graham Ambrose Woodturner. In the vintage rally section the John Cron Cup for the best classic tractor was won by R Wardhaugh with a Leyland 154; and the Robert Thomson Cup presented for the vest vintage tractor was won by George Giddell with a Fordson Paraffin.