Tories hold Ettrick, Roxburgh and Berwickshire

CONSERVATIVE John Lamont retained the revamped Ettrick, Roxburgh and Berwickshire seat which he took from Euan Roson of the Lib Dems in 2007 with vastly increased majority – up from 1,985 to 5,335, writes Bob Burgess.

By The Newsroom
Monday, 9th May 2011, 4:16 pm

And the story was once again very much the collapse of the Lib Dem vote and a surge in the votes captured by the SNP.

Scot Nat Paul Wheelhouse netted 7,599 compared to his party’s return of 4,127 in 2007, pushing the hapless Robson into third place. His vote plunged from 8,571 to 4,990.

Lamont’s victory speech was short. He thanked and pledged to work for his constituents of whatever political flavour.

But a smiling Paul Wheelhouse described his second-place spot and the party’s victory across the country as “fantastic”.

And, reflecting on the fact the Lib Dems were pushed from second to third, declared: ”We have finally slain the myth that it is a two-horse race in the Borders. The SNP is very much alive in the Borders.”


John Lamont (Scottish Conservative and Unionist) - 12,933

Jesse Rae (no ticket) - Jesse Rae - 308

Euan Robson (Scottish Liberal Democrats) - 4,990

Rab Stewart (Scottish Labour Party) - 2,986

Paul Wheelhouse (Scottish National Party) - 7,599